Cooking with Mozart….

gigot_crop_day3_27

Although this sunny, summery, Sunday morning finds me sipping a Kir in the garden, the soft breeze fanning the tall grasses whispers the unequivocal message that change is just around the corner. I had felt this change from waking, some hours before, as though season’s change had tripped a switch within me. A switch that would have more direct consequences had certainly been tripped. Hot water had become a thing of the past. Chauffagistes are thin on the ground where we live, and that thinness becomes too fine to measure on a Sunday. Heating a saucepan of water for shaving was followed by a cold shower which, although surprisingly stimulating, initiated a change of pace from normal summer mornings. Although the picture above is fanciful ( it is in fact a picture of a gigot that I cooked in the fabulous kitchen whilst on holiday last week) I found myself in autumnal mood. I cooked a delicious leek and potato soup with Mozart for company. He never cooks with me in summer. The lack of running hot water added a traditional note to the proceedings, in that I had to have a large saucepan heating water continually on the go, ready for washing up. There is a moment which I always enjoy in Edouard de Pomiane’s “Cooking in 10 minutes” which recounts that he would, on entering a kitchen, first hang up his hat and then put a large saucepan of water to boil. He added that he didn’t have a specific purpose for the boiling water, but that it always came in handy. He was right.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, Autumn, Cooking, Digital photography, Drinks, Edouard de Pomiane, Expectation, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Humour, Kir, Photography, summer, Sunday, Weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Cooking with Mozart….

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Oh dear, you’ll be lighting the fire next šŸ˜‰

  2. I just noticed on your sidebar you have a book! That’s wonderful. šŸ™‚ I’ll have to check it out.

  3. PS. I had difficulty accessing your link re: Edouard de Pomaine.

  4. The gigot looks scrumptious and I wouldn’t mind some of that leek and potato soup. “Winter is coming.”

  5. suej says:

    The Gigot sounds great, and yes the seasons are changing here in England…. just when I had got too acclimatised to warm days.

  6. cecilia says:

    When i used to cook on a wood stove (long time ago, long story.. loved it) I always had water boiling too. Though I do not envy you the cold shower.. No change in the air here yet, still too humid to dry my hay! c

  7. acrusteaten says:

    Woke up this morning with exactly the same feeling. Luckily our hot water was working to take the chill off. Autumn will be here shortly. I can’t wait!

  8. Some of the hard varieties include parmesan-reggiano,
    pecorino-romano and asiago. White wine can be paired
    with just about any type of cheese and it should be left up to your individual taste.
    If you enjoy snacking on cold pizza, you know that the
    whole creation is delicious.

  9. Vive le Terroir
    Hi Roger – in case you have not seen it, I thought you might enjoy this article from today’s NYT:
    http://www.nytimes.com/2013/09/01/sunday-review/vive-le-terroir.html?ref=opinion

    • Wonderful article, Christian. Thanks for sending that to me. The decline of cheese shops is one of the clearest signs of globalisation here. We are so used to the convenience of Supermarkets that we overlook the harm that they do.

  10. Any particular opera that inspires?

  11. I cooked with Mozart today too, it had not occurred to me to link this with Autumn but I put it on after picking some blackberries which is always when I realise summer is over.

  12. Be careful what you wish for… we had a burst of summer heat this weekend. High heat, no AC…! Beautiful picture — applicable across all seasons.

  13. Mozart is always great company. šŸ™‚

  14. The humid great heat has just started here in CA…… though I sensed that certain smell of autumn in the air, just recently……..and I thought summer might be over soon…..oh no…..but definitely the angle of the sun has changed…only photographers notice that…..Mozart is my companion on Sunday mornings for breakfast too, it sets a great mood for the day.

  15. Oh my, there is no ways I could have enjoyed the cold shower!

  16. Hope the plumber does his magic… if not than there over here in sunny California is enough heat to boil water in the sun ….just saying LOL

  17. ChgoJohn says:

    Just moments ago, I dumped a large canning pot filled with hot water, having just processed some jam. Now you make me wonder if I should have kept it. What if I want to can something tomorrow? See what you’ve started … šŸ™‚

  18. We have had glorious weather in England and storms (so I hear) in our mountain village – we’re heading back next weekend so it will be interesting to see if autmn is on its way. Love the look fo that gigot!

  19. Michelle says:

    Hope the hot water returns soon, Roger. We were without power for 17 hours yesterday. Steve was apoplectic about the jams and tomato sauce, etc. in the freezer! A little Mozart might have been a good thing to calm his nerves.

  20. mrsgillies says:

    I love leek and potato soup. In fact, i think it is my favourite kind of soup.

  21. Karen says:

    Mozart makes a fine sous chef. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

