The danger of riding a cock horse….

scarab2_11aug_0007

There was one short, but sparkling, period in my life when I bedecked myself with jewellery and decorative accessories. Hippiedom may have been to blame save for the fact that I was never sufficiently quiet or contemplative to have been accepted as a hippie. Talking the talk was much easier for me than walking the walk, although walking the hippie walk mostly involved lying down and talking in monosyllables. If one could reduce the monosyllable to a nanosyllable, together with a knowing stoned smile, ultimate “cool” had been achieved. You may well have surmised that I wasn’t good at the monosyllable and never even took a stab at the nano option. On account of this I was shunned by the cool, aristo beanpoles that inhabited “Granny Takes a Trip”. house_tree_11aug_0016This dreadful snub, this scarlet “O for outcast” hung about my self confidence,  encouraged me to even louder efforts, both vocal and sartorial. Rings on my fingers and bells on my toes were the order of the day, but the large, heavy, gilt lion’s head, suspended from my ornate leather belt and hanging like a door knocker over my nether regions, would have made the choice of riding a cock horse to Banbury Cross a very bad one. In fact, if I ran to catch a taxi, the flailing lion’s head left me so severely and intimately bruised that any thought of cock riding was too painful to consider. Time moved on and the jewels and adornments gave way to a more ascetic look which would brook no watch, let alone a  gilded, pelvic lion’s head. But yesterday, after a long and peaceful afternoon in the garden, I went to put on my T shirt only to find it adorned with the most wonderfully crafted jewel.  J.K.Huysman’s novel of excess, “À Rebours”, features a turtle whose carapace had been encrusted with jewels to render more beautiful the delicate design of the exotic Eastern carpet over which it slowly moved.  This scarab like creature far outshone that concept, even on my humble Gap garment. This beetle was as cool as any beetle that ever there was…you hear me John.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Digital photography, Excellence, France, Garden, Photography, summer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The danger of riding a cock horse….

  1. Beautiful little creature – although I would have liked to se a photo of you in your hippy frippery!

  2. Excellent title, Roger. (And I probably would’ve screamed and thrown the shirt in the garbage instead of pausing to take a lovely photo.)

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – you might have more luck talking to Paul 😉

  4. I can’t bring myself to wear jewelry either. I’m not fond of having anything covering my forearms and feet.

  5. I want to see a picture of you in your hippy gear now. Do you still have the belt, man?

  6. Michelle says:

    That’s one fine looking beetle.

  7. Erica says:

    You write so beautifully 🙂 I thoroughly enjoyed this post!

  8. I haven’t seen a beetle like that since I lived in Virginia. They were copper-colored and huge. Ugh! Now I’m dying to see the belt. 😉

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    I shudder at the thought of some of the things that I wore. Thankfully, there are few photos that have survived. I’m lucky that I did.

  10. People pay good money for brooches that look like that. Lucky you!

  11. catterel says:

    A Rebours! I had forgotten – that was my favourite reading during my rebellious phase … I loved that turtle and the organ of the senses. Thank you for reminding me – must see if I still my dogeared copy somewhere and re-read- BTW there is a reference to the inspiration for this character in the book The hare with the Amber Eyes – another good read.

  12. Karen says:

    A jewel colored beetle bringing back memories of your belt buckle…I just love your way with words.

Leave a Reply

