Kharmargeddon….

strawbs_vendee_prep_0185Had I been going to St.Ives and I saw a man with seven wives, each of whom was  carrying seven sacks filled with cats, I wouldn’t have said hello. As it was, I was going to the boulangerie in our nearby village where I ran into an erudite Indian gentleman; an old friend who spends France’s winter in India and India’s  summer in France. We only seem to meet as passing ships. I have known him for 10 years or more, yet have never spent longer than half an hour with him. It’s a good relationship as we never have time for disagreement or cross words. Polite greetings accomplished, the conversation moved swiftly through the lack of small electrical repair shops for his elderly vacuum cleaner, the question of a possible storm tonight which neatly segued into crushing poverty in India. My tales of woe in the UK had little chance to impress against such colourful misery. He recounted tales concerning the wealthy in India,  some of whom with which he mixes socially, of such astounding avarice which, the Hindus amongst them, justify by kharma. The glossy, bejewelled, rich beyond your (my) wildest dreams, and greedy justify their acts through kharma, whilst the grindingly poor and needy equally accept their lot through that same divine kharma. A perfect system which only demands complete indifference to the lot of our fellow man. We nearly moved on to religion but that might have changed the very good relationship that we have. I should mention that my friend is not an apologist, in any way, for kharma and, like the rest of us, he just passes through life. powerlessly watching the circus, cheering and booing as the mood takes us.

strawbs_vendee_prep_0228

It’s very hot today so my kharma will include several dishes of chilled strawberries.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, Digital photography, Emotion, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, friendship, Fruit, harmony, Humour, hypocrisy, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, strawberries, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Kharmargeddon….

  1. lulu says:

    Interesting conversations do often occur at chance meetings. I often wonder about that dynamic. Speaking of strawberries, I think I will go make my breakfast smoothie.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I saw a nice bit in Rick Stein’s India last night, where the Dalai Lama suggested that food and food programmes might be the road to world peace 🙂

  3. Glorious photo of very edible strawberries. So much better than the large tasteless cardboard one we have during winter

  4. You must have been very sweet… in this life or the past to have this sort of kharma:)

  5. Kharma’s fine till it bites you on the bum. Beautiful strawberries – berry nice!

  6. That level of karma would not fly here. It’s all about there here and now, and telling someone they’re paying for their actions in a divine sense is either going to get you punched in the face or at the very least flipped off and cursed.

  7. you certainly know how to appreciate the little beautiful things in life, like strawberries, apricots etc.

  8. I never understand how people can justify lack of feeling for good karma/bad karma. Doesn’t it all come back to bite one next time if you’re a jerk this time? I don’t entirely understand it, but the acceptance of things that defy human decency are present in every religion.

    I think I will have some strawberries now. 🙂

  9. I’ve always wondered at those who struggle so much but just accept their lot in life. I don’t think I could do that. I’d rail against it and fight to get away from the hardship.

  10. Gorgeous red berries. Ours never look that good.
    What stories that man must have.

  11. Eha says:

    Throughout life I have most enjoyed relationships like this . . . no time to get bored with stories told a dozen times either . . . oh, I believe in karma an sometimes quite ‘nastily’ hope it works . . . and all my many Asian friends have forever taught me to ‘go with the flow’: easier on your blood pressure for certain 😉 !

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    There they call it kharma. Here we say things like, “There but for the grace of God go I …” Thank the gods for strawberries!

  13. Tandy says:

    I believe in karma, but not to that extent!

  14. Karen says:

    Beautiful berries to enjoy while pondering life and friendships.

Leave a Reply

