The rod that I’ve attached to my back…

..is particularly uncomfortable on a hot day such as this. There is enough clay in the feet that keep me upright, and uptight, on my lofty soap box, to make posh terracotta pots from which everyone can eat their budget recipes. Today the sun is  shining, and I am where I am. There’s a blue pool, that is starting to go green, but it’s blue now and I love being in it. I’ve just made a very simple creme fraiche panna cotta and boiled up the juice from some peaches to make a syrup and the whole thing is pretty perfect. I gave my conscience the slip and its very relaxing. Have a good Sunday.

I’ve added a recipe for panna cotta made from creme liquide, of which I had none, so I made it with creme fraiche. I also didn’t have any raspberries but I did have a few peaches. So the recipe doesn’t have a lot of relevance with has a parallel with my rants.

panna_peach_syrup_0057

Panna Cotta Vanille avec sa confiture framboise

 

Recette de @lacuisinedeDavy

 

40cl creme liquide

½  vanilla pod

50gms caster sugar

2 sheets of gelatine

 

 

Heat the cream and sugar with the seeds that you have removed from the vanilla pod, Bring the mixture slowly to the boil and remove from the heat..

 

Soak the gelatine sheets in cold water for 5 minutes. Drain them and drop them into the hot cream and sugar mixture. Let them dissolve completely.

 

Pour the cream mixture into glasses and chill them in the fridge.

 

Confiture framboise

 

50gms caster sugar

150gms fresh raspberries

 

Put the raspberries and sugar in pan and heat them, making sure to keep the raspberries whole. Remove the whole raspberries with a slotted spoon after about 5 minutes of heating. Reduce the remaining juices. Put the juices with the whole raspberries and chill.

 

To serve: place some juice and raspberries on top of each glass of pannacotta..

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, desserts, Digital photography, Emotion, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Fruit, harmony, Humour, hypocrisy, Panna Cotta, peaches, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Recipes, summer, swimming pool, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to The rod that I’ve attached to my back…

  1. lulu says:

    Even though it seems that you may not be having a very good day, the pan a cotta should make it better. That is one of my favorite desserts and you have just told me what should be served at tonight’s gathering. Take care.

  2. I know that clay-footed feeling. Here I’m wading through porridge, it’s so hot. I didn’t realise that panna cotta was so simple to make – I’ll give this a try 😉

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Keep beating yourself – that pudding sounds delicious 😉

  4. It looks delicious whatever you made it from. Now get back into that pool!

  5. “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven,” or so the verse goes. I find it advantageous to stay in the good graces of Lady Discretion.

  6. Sally says:

    Forget guest posts, I think I may have to ask you to be my guest headline writer….absolutely compels you to read on …and feast your eyes on that panna cotta.

  7. cecilia says:

    Gave your conscience the slip aye!! What a stuning image..Have a lovely day in the pool.. c

  8. What a gorgeous Bastille Day treat! I remain envious of your access to good stone fruit.

  9. The perfect thing for Bastille Day. (As I head out to celebrate.) 🙂

    We have some fresh peaches, Roger. I may have to give MTM a big hint with your recipe.

  10. How can you stay rigid when you have ripe peaches available? I know I cannot. Happy Bastille Day!

  11. I slip from consciousness.. oh, you meant conscience.. well, I slip from that quite regularly too. I’ve got a bit of a defiant side when it comes to summer and relaxing. I love that last shot of your panna cotta.. just heavenly!!

  12. Eha says:

    Sugar + water [inside and out] seem to = summer contentment 🙂 ! Enjoy 😉 !

  13. Tandy says:

    I like your adaptations Roger 🙂

  14. Karen says:

    Panna cotta and a blue pool…it doesn’t get much nicer.

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    Panna cotta made with creme fraiche sounds wonderful, Roger. An that’s a beautiful image. Um, no, not of you in the pool but of the panna cotta. I’m too jealous to think more of you in that pool. 😉

  16. A belated Bastille Day to you! This looks lovely.

  17. Thats a beautiful image congratulations

Leave a Reply

