As I like it…

beach_writing_0333The warmth of the sun on my neck at this early hour together with the deep, dark shadows of my hand on the writing pad augurs well for hopes that my new blind date, July, is going to offer more promised pleasures than her predecessor, June.

The feeling in the air is that of a summer’s beach day: those longed for, selfish moments on empty sands before the holiday season allows others to share this pleasure. Delicious moments of loneliness when I can talk to myself without worried looks coming my way. The written summer of the printed page that is in fact unattainable.

The delight of such thoughts on a morning such as this ย nearly paralyses me. Rather than packing a hamper and setting off to this vision of the ocean’s edge I feel the urge to remain as still as possible in case any slight movement should upset the balance of emotion. This moment of the day is clock stopping.

 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, Digital photography, Emotion, Expectation, France, French countryside, harmony, Illusion, Landscapes, Memory, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Photoshop, Reality, summer, Uncategorized, Vendee, Virtual, Weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to As I like it…

  1. Beautiful image and beautiful imagery in your words.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    IMHO, you should run to the beach, just i case ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Roger, your sentiments are admirable, as is your photography (actually, your readers have come to expect no less). But I am intrigued by this photograph and the sharp edge to the blurred section on the left. This is not depth of field, but looks to me like you have shot through an empty wine glass. Actually, the glass is clean enough that it would be a not yet filled wine glass. You might be using a half filter, or it could be Photoshop. Please tell. – James

  4. Lovely sentiment, Roger. I tend to wish July away, and I shouldn’t.

  5. Gorgeous. You are a master wordsmith. And this piece makes me excited about heading back to France the first week of July!

  6. Andy Szpuk says:

    Talking to oneself is an under-rated activity Roger, thanks for championing it.

  7. Oh, Roger, the longing. A French beach is all I desite right now, and you have summed it up, there it is in a bottle: all except me actually in fact being there…

  8. I always appreciate your use of less common words in your writing. Thank you for that. Also, uncrowded beaches bring out the covetous nature inside me. I’d love to own a slice of sand before I leave this world.

  9. John harvey says:

    Love it!

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    Wonderful post, Roger, the imagery beautiful. Seems like we share the same love-hate relationship with June. July cannot get here soon enough.

  11. Eha says:

    Roger the ‘delicious moments’ are not of loneliness but being alone: a vastly different and wonderful time . . . I too will be travelling the highroads and byroads of France from Saturday night onwards pedalling furiously with ‘le Tour’ full of hope that ‘we’ do well . . . ๐Ÿ™‚ !

  12. Roger, how long did you stay still for ;)? Wonderful post!

  13. I love clock-stopping moments, they are rather too infrequent for my taste. I also love that you still write.. actually hand-write.. my work is always on computer now and type-written.

  14. I couldn’t agree more with your sentiment…lovely.

Leave a Reply

