Rain is a four letter word…

teacup_rain_13“I like it like rain water, my dear” was the standard reply given by a favourite aunt when asked how she took her tea. Unlike Arthur’s cake, this cup, which someone left out in the rain, retained its recipe and would have been exactly to her taste.

The abandoned cup becomes an unusual pluviometer, but a clear indicator of the current season. In keeping with the Eskimos, us folk of the moderate climatic regions, should have a thousand words for rain. I do, and I use them like a parrot with Tourette’s each time that I look out of the window.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, Digital photography, Expectation, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Seasons, Weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Rain is a four letter word…

  1. “…like a parrot with Tourette’s …”

    I’d like to borrow that phrase for use in the future, if I may. Coprolalia fun for everyone!

  2. Gorgeous water drop! And I love the notion that we who live in rain should have hundreds of words for rain.

  3. Amazing shot – and just how my grandmother liked her tea πŸ˜‰

  4. Great shot
    Always appreciate the rain

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    Such a fantastic shot, Roger!

  6. lojardinier says:

    I always puzzled over that line of Jim Webb’s from Macarthur Park – maybe you’re the only one who knows what it means – but parrots never explain.

  7. I am glad to see that it is now rain and not hail………..though the sky is still gray. I know. Lovely shot as always, Roger.

  8. Rachel says:

    too much wet wet wet there and none at all here… sigh…

  9. Haha, what’s the saying? If that’s tea, bring me coffee?
    That last sentence is a jewel. πŸ™‚

  10. Mad Dog says:

    Oh dear – a storm in a tea cup!

  11. I love the shot. Gorgeous. We’ve been getting tons of rain here as well. It does get old!

  12. Karen says:

    This has not been a wonderful spring in France weather wise but you captured the rain brilliantly. I’m wishing you sunny skies and gentle breezes for a chance.

  13. cecilia says:

    My mother was the same, they would not even charge her for it in the tea rooms! God I hope you get some lazy sunny days soon! c

  14. I hope that the sun has finally come out. It must have rained because I sang you that song from “Annie” 😦 Beautiful photo though- yet again, you can find beauty in drab weather!

  15. A parrot with Tourette’s. Now there’s a vivid image, Roger. Sublime picture, just sublime.

  16. We have a 1,000 such words right now.. and now of them acceptable for public consumption. Our city is shut down with road closures, evacuations and meters of water in basements of homes. Dear god.. it’s still raining. I love your photo, I must try that technique some time, I love those shots!!

Leave a Reply

