….stoned and seeing red.

cherries_black_1485There is something iconic and primal about cherries. Apart from their perfect shape and colour, the true beauty of cherries lies in their ability to get stoned while I get juiced. The voluptuous simplicity of their shape and colour is  seductive. A colour so subtle and elusive that it outshines any cosmetic product with the temerity to take its name in vain, yet, a very rough and ready description will leave your listener in no doubt as to the fruit to which you are alluding. Round, red, the size of a nut, hanging in pairs from bright green stems. The pleasure in this fruit is so much more than the sum of its parts. Glossy piles of nearly black Bigarreau cherries caught my eye and my heart yesterday.

The pleasure in cherries lies in immediacy. A white china bowl sits in front of me whilst I wonder what I shall do with them. As I wonder, I eat and soon there are none. That is the best way to enjoy cherries – thoughtless indulgence leaving one covered in juice and the plate looking like a well used love nest.

cherries_black_1458

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, cherries, Digital photography, Emotion, Excellence, Excess, Expectation, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Fruit, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Sex, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to ….stoned and seeing red.

  1. Oh yay, it’s cherry season! Bummer, my pitter is in France 😦 Fabulous pictures, of course.

  2. Too true! Nothing in life is actually cherry red except for a cherry! Beautiful photos, Roger. Enjoy devouring your Biggareaux.

  3. Tandy says:

    I could not resist the cherries in the market and delighted in eating them on the train while we traveled from Bologna to Milano 🙂

  4. Love your poetry along with great image of the cherry delight…. I agree. Cherries are some sensual fruit to me. I just recently photographed cherries as well with my favorite flowers, it’s the season….
    you will find it in my last post @ http://www.corneliaweberphotography.wordpress.com
    Enjoy fruits of the season.
    On another note, today I created another apricot cake, a la Florentine style, needless to say that my guests almost fainted….

  5. Instant gratification….marvellous.

  6. Yes, the cherry fascination… Very beautiful post and pics!

  7. Mad Dog says:

    You let the White Rabbit in and they got you stoned again!
    It reminds me of a song on Camembert Electrique by Gong (1971)…
    Great pictures 😉

  8. Lulu says:

    Who would have thought to make a cherry both so beautiful and interesting? Genius and I will think of this post whenever I have cherries on hand.

  9. Stoned and juiced. Hehehe.

    One of my favorite memories involved cherries. I was lucky enough to visit Oregon during cherry season. My friend Alice (who was just here with her daughter Cayleigh) went with me. We bought a big bag of cherries from a stand on the side of Mount Hood (a volcano), drove up the side of the mountain, stopped as close to the top as we could get in the car and ate our cherries.

  10. Unbelievable. I devoured a bowl of cherries right before reading your post! Probably my favorite fruit.

  11. Cherries always remind me of The Witches of Eastwick….spooky….

  12. They are so sweet, so beautiful, so short lived. Couldn’t you use your influence to lengthen their growing season, Roger?

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    Looking forward to the start of our tart cherry season in a couple weeks, though I’ll never look upon a plate of cherries in quite the same way. It’s too early to tell whether that’s a good thing.

  14. Very evocative picture of cherries. I love it!

  15. Gorgeous photos, especially the stoned/stoning shot. The woman who had brought a box of cherries from her tree to our market said that she could hardly stop herself from eating them all morning! Luckily there were some left for us. Seeing ChgoJohn’s comment and your reply – here we have cerises sauvages, the tree is called guinier. Our neighbour has one but doesn’t like them so we usually get to pick all the fruit and it makes wonderful jam. Probably you have them where you are too.

  16. Karen says:

    Fresh red cherries are irresistible…especially the big, sweet ones.

  17. Stunning.. black Bigarreau cherries.. you are a very, very fortunate man!

  18. Roger, I know what you mean by the ‘immediacy’ of the cherry. Once I see the cherry, I follow it’s call and then can’t stop eating until they are all finished- and then hope I don’t see any more for awhile (or else I will balloon up!)

Leave a Reply

