Pimping my nuts….

almonds_soy_cropIt’s so easy to lose control. I am bitterly aware that one can have enough of a good thing, and it was clear that my nuts were starting to play too big a part in my life. There is a moment when a halt has to be called, although I cannot remember a previous moment of voluntary halt calling. That might be due to failing memory, curtain drawing or the fact that it was an agency outside of myself that had rung the bell and called “time, drink up please”. However, I had reached the point were I needed to know when almonds ceased to be a super food and transmogrified into a surfeit, less slippery than lampreys, but a surfeit nonetheless. There being no resident agony aunt in La Moussiere, I was reduced to imitating the birds in our roof by tweeting. Having tweeted I received an answerย in a twinkling of tweetime : less of an answer, more of a recipe. The question of surfeit was ignored. It appears that giving the almonds a short soaking in soy and sugar, and then roasting them for 10 minutes or so, would give me something to chew on whilst I continued to cast about for a solution to my “knutty” problem. ย They are very good, but in the end the unpimped version rules.ย 

almonds_jar_blend My twitter agony aunt is @shotbykim who is linked to a brilliant site http://beerlens.com/ for those amongst you who would like to see how the renaissance of the traditional English pub is faring, together with other bars.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Almonds, Bad Habits, baking, Digital photography, Excellence, Excess, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Health, Nuts, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Recipes, Sugar, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Pimping my nuts….

  1. Mad Dog says:

    If it helps your surfeit, almonds are a very important ingredient in Spanish cuisine. They are ground to a paste and used as a thickener in many savoury dishes, including Gazpacho. They can also be toasted whole with a little smoked paprika, olive oil and salt – like this:
    http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/2013/03/marcona-almonds-with-smoked-paprika

  2. I am an almond nut, but I prefer them…. for lack of a better word….undressed ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I knew I was in for a good read when I saw the title and you didn’t disappoint! I like my nuts peeled (soak in warm water and slip off the skins) then dry fried and salted (with some pimenton if I am feeling fancy).

  4. Tandy says:

    Your posts always put a smile on my face!

  5. Eha says:

    Until the photo of the almonds surfaced on my screen [somewhat later than the print and heading] I was kind’of wondering what the next lines would bring ๐Ÿ™‚

    PS. Almond meal is marvellous for almost any ‘crumbing’ by the bye . . .

  6. Oh, how I wish I had come up with this title. I am very impressed, Roger.

  7. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
    A million thanks!!!!!!! Well, I do think the soy and sugar route might be a nice way to go for a salad or roasted veggie addition.

  8. I don’t think it will discourage the addiction, but one of my favourites is Romesco sauce – ground almonds and red peppers, from Tarragona, traditionally eaten with calรงots, grilled spring onions, but delicious with all kinds of things!

Leave a Reply

