These latish things remind me of you…

Peaches in bowl 3_retouch” A bowl of peaches that are slowly ripening,

Summer salad 48

A simple salad on a summer evening….” These and other equally delicious things remind me of you, Summer. I’m impatiently awaiting your arrival; my mind is filled with memories of our last meeting that I daily embellish with tiny, delicious details that add another layer of longing, and even a frisson of excitement, to the promise of the first blush of your warm front. It all seems so long ago, our last tryst; probably because it was. An unreasonably and, more to the point, unseasonably long time ago. To you, the beating heart of the careless changing seasons, nothing but an  unrecognisable, infinitesimal blip, but for us mortals, a good slice out of the three score and ten summers predicted by the Good Book. Will the picnic become as rare an event as the sighting of a snow leopard knitting? Will ” le dejeuner sur l’herbe” become “le dejeuner sur la moquette devant la cheminée”?

As sure as politics are pointless, and game shows are bollocks, we will once again find ourselves biting into sand filled sandwiches, sipping warm rosé from a plastic cup and thinking that “These lumpfish things remind me of caviar”. And then it’ll be Christmas again.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, Caviar, Childhood memories, Christmas, Digital photography, Drinks, Expectation, fireplace, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Fruit, Humour, lifestyle, Lumpfish, peaches, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, summer, Uncategorized, Weather, Wine, wine, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to These latish things remind me of you…

  1. I am already craving peaches, Roger. It won’t be long now.

  2. I think I’d settle for a decent Spring. Summer seems a bit ambitious…

  3. As you know, I was recently in Céret for a family holiday. I went with all my cherry recipes in hand totally in vain. Due to an extra long winter, the cherries were far from ripe. Even when we left, they still looked like olives on the trees. Oh how I long for some soft stone fruit. Summer just isn’t summer without grilled peaches and cherry pie.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Don’t blink 😉

  5. I don’t know what I like better–the peaches, the bowl or that beautiful stone backdrop.
    Hope summer lasts longer than your winter did!

  6. “And then it’ll be Christmas again.” I just ignored that last bit …

    Divine photos.

  7. Eha says:

    If the first ides of summer do not listen to your beautifully worded plea for the warmth of the sun and gentle breezes there surely is no righteousness left in nature either . . .

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    I certainly cannot speak for others but there will always be picnics in my world, Roger, sandy sandwiches et al. 🙂

  9. Spring’s hit the South of France, and baby nectarines are growing on the tree in the garden… HAng on in there, and don’t spill your wine on the carpet!

  10. fransiweinstein says:

    (Sigh).

  11. Can’t believe you used the C word…Christmas indeed! Just back to Spain and it seems summer is slow in arriving here too.Might be a little while longer until we see those peaches….

Leave a Reply

