Panning for gold….

“I break some good eggs into a bowl, I beat them well, I put in a good piece of butter in the pan. I throw the eggs into it and I shake it constantly. I am happy, monsieur, if this recipe pleases you.” This was the ground breaking secret recipe that the Mere Poulard revealed after  endless enquiries into the secret of her world  renowned omelettes.egg_fried_pan_blur_0903 Painstaking experiments have led me to the conclusion that if you don’t “beat them well” first, the same system makes a fine fried egg. Being greeted by the sun this morning was as good a reason as any to enjoy a substantial breakfast, and with an egg looking as good as this one, there was no time for the niceties of the table.egg_fried_pan_0912 This is a wonderful way of eating as the food stays at the right temperature and there is less washing up. Apart from such practicalities, there is the opportunity for the eyes to feast on the beauty of a golden egg in a well used, delicately patinated copper pan whilst the palate is getting on with its own fun. egg_fried_empty_pan_0917 As with so many good things, as hard as one tries to spin it out, it’s over too soon. But in the end I got a good picture as did Gustave Courbet.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, Breakfast, Cooking, Digital photography, Eggs, Elizabeth David, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Fried eggs, La Mere Poulard, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Recipes, summer, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Panning for gold….

  1. There used to be a restaurant in Manhattan with huge glass windows of the kitchen that was seen from the street. I always marveled to watch the chefs beating up some amazing dishes. BUT the one that stays in my mind, and I’ve never figured out how they did it, was the egg tower.

    It started as a beaten egg in the pan, and as it cooked the chef reconfigured the shape of the cooking egg and made it rise up into a tower shape. Do you think they put in a secret ingredient to make the egg hold that tower shape?

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Your egg reminds me of the Boy Scouts – Courbet might have been a Boy Scout too 😉

  3. cecilia says:

    This reminds me of a lovely joke that I am sure you have heard before. Man goes into a restaurant, he is approached by a terribly uppercrust, dreadfully snobbish, very well trained maitre d’. “Good evening, sir” he said, reaching for a menu. “Just the one?”. The man nodded. The Maitre d’ turned his very straight back and looked across the restaurant. “Would sir like a table on the terrace? or possibly a booth,” he turns back to the man and cocks his regal head, “or would you rather a nice corner in the kitchen and you can eat standing up at the bench, looking out the window.”

    Your breakfast looks alarmingly like mine, though I am like your little pan better!

    Have a lovely day.. c

  4. cecilia says:

    oops, typo, late night last night… please delete the ‘am’ whilst reading.. thank you.. c

  5. Look at that bright orange yolk! Such a huge gorgeous egg. Seriously a case of un oeuff is enough. Where did you get it? Do you and your wife have hens that lay them daily? Do you shop at a local farm?

  6. Just the way I would want to eat it. Gorgeous photos Roger.

  7. Fantastic egg – I can match that, but not the bread, I am afraid! Bon Appétit!!!

  8. Tandy says:

    I have done the same!

  9. I love the way the knife and fork are joined across the pan. So well mannered.

  10. Eha says:

    Obviously this you DID like 🙂 !

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    I had forgotten egg yolks were supposed to be that color until I started buying my eggs at the farmers market. What a shock that first cracked egg was! Sunny-side up, indeed

  12. The yolk, the pan and the photos are magnifique … but poach mine please and present on a lightly toasted slice of that scrumptious bread for my ultimate comfort food! Free-range only!

  13. It reminds me of the story about Gertrude Stein’s cook, who didn’t like Matisse because he stayed to dinner without warning, so she fried eggs for him instead of making omelette, knowing that he would understand the significance of this. Not being very keen on eggs, it’s the bread and the nice little frying pan that do it for me here.

    • Love the Gertrude Stein story. Unlike Matisse, I would not have understood the significance of being served fried eggs instead of an omelette – I shall keep a keen eye out in the future for any suck behaviour from hosts on whom I impose myself without warning:)

  14. Just Good? You got some Great pictures Roger.

  15. Gorgeous shots…don’t think I’d have had the patience (or strength of character) to stop eatng and take a shot!

Leave a Reply

