I got the blues….

longeville_beach_0333I had to go and check, and I can confirm that it’s OK. The sea is still blue, as is the sky, with a cleverly contrasting yellow for the ground. Whoever worked that one out is no fool, it gets us every time.

Times change, so I don’t know if parents are still afflicted with the persistent cries of “Are we there yet?” from children, desperate for their first view of the summer sea, as family cars slowly edge towards the end of land for their holidays. I remember uttering that cry and experiencing the excitement engendered by that first view of blue joining blue. In truth, it was often grey joining grey, but anticipation and imagination created the blues, that for once were not a lament but a joyful hymn.longeville_beach_0342

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Digital photography, Emotion, Excellence, Expectation, family, France, French countryside, harmony, Landscapes, Landscapes, Memory, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, summer, Vendee, Weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to I got the blues….

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Toujours le grand bleu 🙂

  2. Oh, those colours! Beautiful pictures, Roger.

  3. Michelle says:

    Certainly glad you checked on it and found it well.

  4. Tandy says:

    The walk down to the beach looks idyllic. I get excited every day when I catch my first glimpse of the sea!

  5. Lovely sentiments, lovely pictures.

  6. Lovely colors, Roger.

    I once had a cousin who, upon her first sighting of the Atlantic Ocean, said, “I believe it, but I don’t see it.”

  7. Beach! I’ll be at one soon…

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    That’s a beautiful capture of the path to the beach, Roger. There’s nothing quite like that first glimpse of the water on a cloudless day.

  9. cecilia says:

    Oh that last shot is Bloody Stunning, absolutely magical.. makes me LONG for home and the sea, Is this your piece of beach where you live? I am sure i read one time that you were making concrete by the sea, why do i remember that.. or are you still on holiday.. c

  10. Eha says:

    ‘Are we there yet?’ must still be a popular saying as two of the current local TV ads very much make it their central point 🙂 ! And I have seen such brilliant blue many a time around Pacific Islands but never been lucky in Europe . . . just beautiful . . .

  11. You’ve reminded me that I must go and check that the Mediterranean is still blue! Lovely shots.

  12. Gorgeous color. We live near Lake Michigan and marvel that it never looks the same – colors change, the beach shifts, the vegetation changes…

  13. Definitely the right kind of blues to have….

  14. Even the blues are more beautiful in France.

  15. Pingback: Blau / bleu / blue / glas | olivesandartichokes

Leave a Reply

