I seem to have lost my cherry..

self_portrait_desat2_0592_0255Winter days start in deep darkness and summer days in bright blankness, two versions of one and the same thing: the empty sheet of paper. I dream a lot which means that my mind has been buzzzzing all night. Sleep comes very easily to me, as do dreams. Like peoples’ names, I never remember them when I need them. Events that I “remembered”, and have recounted in detail, I have later found have not been lived by me awake. At least I don’t think so. I’m full of admiration for autobiographers, in that they have retained enough, clear and detailed, information about themselves to paint a reasonably accurate picture of their passage through time up to the last word of their manuscript. Do they work backwards or begin from the earliest memory? Since the toil of writing an autobiography is not amongst my wildest dreams – there I go again – maybe I’ve already written a very good one, packed with events that I awake know nothing about, but which has the reader on the edge of their seat. The déja vu may have become the déja lu.

Cherries are on my mind this morning. I read in a blog, yesterday, that the cherry festival takes place in Ceret tomorrow. The only place where I have seen cherries this year is deep in my dreams. Cherries in glass copy

 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, cherries, Digital photography, Dreams, Expectation, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Fruit, Illusion, Memory, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Reality, summer, Uncategorized, Virtual, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to I seem to have lost my cherry..

  1. wisejourney says:

    Cherries in your dreams has a certain poetic ring to it

  2. Dreams are insightful. Cherries are yummy. Nice post!

  3. Tandy says:

    I can only dream of cherries now as they are out of season!

  4. I’ve never understood how we transitioned from ‘autobiography’ to ‘memoir’. The former is supposed to be packed with well-researched details about a person’s life. The latter is mostly fiction, from what I understand. I prefer writing novels, because I can make them way more interesting……….I hope.

    I wish I remembered my dreams.

    I wish I had some cherries.

  5. Memories are fun. I recently spent time comparing memories with my sister. Perhaps some were dreams as so few of them matched….

  6. Great post! Though I thought you were going to go in another direction from the title…

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Life is a pop of the cherry 😉

  8. I have crazy wacky dreams. I usually regale my husband with them on our morning walks. Just wish sleep came as easily.

  9. Brilliant shots.

    Wish I could remember my dreams. I do such amazing things in them, like write poetry and design houses. Not in real life, alas.

  10. Eha says:

    Actually I love reading autobiographies . . . but the other Gemini-side of me is realistic enough to smile at some passages which surely were but wish-dreams 🙂 !

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    I’m constantly questioning myself before posting some story from my youth. I’ll call Zia to get her recollections hoping she’ll verify my memory, lest it be a dream. Even then, once the item is posted, it’s interesting to learn how the same incident is remembered by the various members of my family. The devil is in the details, as they say.

  12. Off to Ceret with you!

  13. You’ve got time to go to Céret – the festival has been postponed this year until 1 and 2 June because of the late spring. Maybe you’ll dream about it anyway!

  14. *Sigh* I love cherries. I miss them.

  15. Stunning cherries!

  16. maybe you can collate this blog into a book one day… The cherries in LA are beyond delicious. Every Sunday, i am off to the farmer’s market for my $6 mini bucket of the sweet n sour berries.

Leave a Reply

