The writing’s on the wall….

And, whatever we think, that is where most writing is to be seen today. Hand writing is on the wane as wall writing waxes. Graffiti scratches the parts fountain pens can’t reach. We are now all writers because, through the gift of the world wide web, people read what we write, be that number much less than the average readership of any well crafted epithet in the stall of a metropolitan public lavatory ( “My mother made me a homosexual. If I give her the wool, will she make me one?” genre or plain ” I love grils”). A massive world wide typing pool clatters away day and night eliminating the need for writing words, save rudimentary shopping lists, whilst reducing the 3R’s to a more manageable R – Reading. Rithmetic and Riting are dealt with by programs that are easier to learn than the real thing, but we still need to Read the screen of phones and computers, which is a bit annoying as a lot of shopping time is wasted in learning to Read. This may well be the time for a renaissance in scribes and readers. I have started a scheme in our local forest to get the creatures reading and writing, and I have no doubt that the wild boars and other other thinking creatures will soon be as literate as any TOWIE ( Tired of writing in English) and a lot more interesting .number_7_0226

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, Dreams, Excellence, France, French countryside, Humour, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The writing’s on the wall….

  1. Sigh.

    Roger, you post hits on so many things that I rail against in private. While blogging has opened up the world to me—has even introduced me to people like you—I mourn the idea that I have to come up with the simplest way to say a thing if I want anyone to read it. At least, you are a photographer. The Visual Web is your oyster. 🙂

  2. Mad Dog says:

    When I was a part time lecturer, I was amazed to discover that students had spell check switched on, but they were too lazy to use it… in fact they were even too lazy to read what they had written! Needless to say, I got out of the education business 😉

    • I did part time lecturing, for about a year, at Hornsey Art School in the 70’s. I don’t think it did much for them or for me:)

      • Mad Dog says:

        …and Hornsey was supposed to have been one of the good ones (or at least interesting ones) back then. I did love the space that Fine Art had in Alexandra palace before it caught fire. Thinking about it, I worked for Middlesex University, which is what Hornsey became part of 😉

      • I was there at the time of Mao’s Little Red Book, just before the “revolution”. I got the hell out before they got revolting.

      • Mad Dog says:

        I had dinner recently with the American guy who became head of art. The revolting students went and found him at the RCA and demanded that he take over! He’s quite an interesting character – he initially told the students they weren’t very interesting or worth the bother 😉

      • Excellent – I have to say that I don’t think I had the desire to teach at that time. I did it part time to earn some money to help support my studio. £20 a day as I remember. If you think that I’d been earning £8 a week as Clive Arrowsmith’s assistant prior to that, it was a bloody fortune.

      • Mad Dog says:

        Very nice working for Clive 🙂
        I can imagine with regard to the money. To start I got £10 a day if there was work and then I had to really hassle the photographer at the end of the week to get the money!
        I went to a gallery opening last night and the owner had a Strobe Swimming Pool, a Fish Fryer, a 5,000 joule console and two 1,000 joule packs. He said he got them for £200 and has no idea how they work. I hope he doesn’t blow himself up!

      • Christ, that David Cecil Strobe stuff was a nightmare – so dangerous. I heard of so many bad accidents with it. I have to say that I used it for years, before Elinchron and others brought out big, collapsible soft boxes, like the Quadra and Octa lights. My son is still using mine in his London studio.

  3. Brilliant and true. Loved the TOWIE thing 🙂

  4. I will say I leave more of my verbose thoughts and arguments to face-to-face conversations. Since my blog is mainly about food, I leave my narrative short and sweet.

  5. Tandy says:

    Reading and writing are going to become a lost skill!

  6. Yes, sad. I think I’m too old to be a TOWIE, hate spell checks (because they usually don’t understand what I’m trying to say) and prefer a pencil to a pen….although I do like being able to change drafts on the computer so easily.

  7. You remind me of Winston in 1984, and his notebook. Writing in a book is a sensual experience. And people are beginning to forget it. How sad.

  8. So true. When teaching our newest generation, I was shocked to find that they were lost without spell-check and that research meant “cut and paste” off the web (no citations required).

  9. Roger, you sound a bit depressed. Are other things in your life going against you? Don’t we all have those same thoughts…

Leave a Reply

