The Hound of the Daffodils….

trigger_forest_27apr_0139Much as I dislike diminutives, I’m very fond of Trigger and Gypsy. The two eponymous poodles have been in our charge over the last few days, which has meant that I have been drawn away from stove and keyboard and driven out into the wild, at least once a day, walking the dog(s). Like sheep, the poodles get sheared at this time of year. Unlike sheep which, when sheared, just look undressed, poodles become diminutives of themselves. They nearly disappear. Their colour is all that keeps them visible, if risible. The green, or grey, poodle is a perfect spring time predator, but they are scarce on the ground and hard to spot. There is a poodle, in spring time hunting green, in the picture above, not far away from the more obvious black specimen, which is sporting an orange collar to differentiate it from its more elusive kin.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Art photography, Digital photography, dog walking, Dogs, France, French countryside, harmony, Humour, Hunting, Poodles, summer, Uncategorized, Vendee, Walkies, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Hound of the Daffodils….

  1. We had an Old English Sheepdog; the kind with its hair in its eyes… When he had to be sheared once and I went to pick him up, they brought him out and I said, “where’s my dog?” I did not recognize him without that shaggy coat! What a funny and odd looking creature is left under all that fur!

  2. It’s extraordinary – these poodles look at least 2/3 smaller without their coats.

  3. mad Dog says:

    I hope tomorrow you’ll add a picture with a circle around the invisible poodle šŸ˜‰

  4. It can never be revealed, MD. To see the green poodle is to ………..

  5. Lush picture. I could get lost in it, just like the poodle.

  6. We are into the time of year where I really enjoy walking our dogs. It was beautiful this morning with the flowers coming up and the trees are starting to leaf out. šŸ™‚

  7. patriciasands says:

    I enlarged the photo. I peered intensely. I squinted. No success.

  8. And it looks like spring has spring too! Greenery abounds!

  9. I can’t find chameleon poodle either šŸ˜¦ It’s like the children’s book ‘where’s Wally?’

  10. Eha says:

    What a glorious spring picture to make one’s heart sing! And the second of the pair is kind’of ‘hiding’ in the ‘valley’ just behind the flowers??

  11. Tandy says:

    Poor pups to be shaved into near oblivion!

  12. Lisaman says:

    I do so appreciate green now that I live in an environment where I have 4 months of snow!! Lovely!!

  13. spree says:

    Those camo-green poodles, they’re Everywhere this time of year! A lovely woodland scene there Roger!

  14. That title. Stupendous. šŸ˜€

  15. What a glorious green. Reminds me of being back on the East Coast. Nothing like spring green.

  16. lojardinier says:

    I give up with the poodle hunt, but those yellowish flowers look a lot like my favourite spurges. So the camo dog is spurgin’ on the ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

