Coffee is the cornerstone…..

coffee_morning2_0020Unnoticed, the bright, early mornings and long, warm evenings have changed my auto pilot settings. Not every morning is bright, nor every evening warm, but the basis of a plan is there. Coffee is the cornerstone of this plan. As each day dawns, summer or winter, bright or gloomy, the coffee pot kick starts the mechanisms. My consciousness percolates, at a similar rate to the water in the base of the pot, passing slowly through the pile of problems and pleasures that await my attention during that day. Drinking the coffee allows me the time to relish or panic at what lies ahead. Whether I succeed or fail is immaterial because that’s the day that will be. Only at the end of that day can I tally the score and realise once more that I’m sweeping a very large beach, and that’s not a bad place to be.beach_Ouistreham2_9949

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, coffee, Expectation, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Kitchens, Landscapes, photography course, Photography holiday, summer, Weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Coffee is the cornerstone…..

  1. Made me smile, thinking of that beach … 🙂

  2. mad Dog says:

    I just finished mine – damn!
    The ocean’s deep today 😉

  3. I love the imagery of the percolating preparation for the day. beautiful 🙂 I make myself a pot full of rocket fuel first thing in the morning and it keeps me on track right through the day. I have a token teapot that I pull out to pretend I’m really English when French friends ask if it’s teatime.

  4. Beautifully put (and loved the shots)…reflects my thoughts exactly. I just couldn’t have put it so well!

  5. Tandy says:

    I love how you captured the steam! Coffee is the cornerstone of my every day 🙂

  6. I love that throwback coffee pot, Roger.

  7. It’s amazing what a pleasant feeling the image of that espresso maker evokes!!!

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    Beautifully put, Roger. A very long beach, indeed.
    So much of my day depends on that first cup of coffee. And you do not want to be around me when, for whatever reason, I’ve been forced to go without.

  9. Eha says:

    Don’t know anyone who can act humanoid without the brew when the sun comes up . . . of course some of us are oft in too much of a hurry to make a civilized cup, if you get my meaning . . . 😀 !

  10. Of course you and your readers all realize that we are all addicts: addicts of coffee. Really; if you stop drinking it you’ll get a powerful headache.Those are withdrawal symptoms. So, just don’t stop!

  11. That top photo has me longing for a cuppa! Well shot!

  12. I can’t start the day without coffee from one of our Bialetti machinette – size depending on how many cups are needed because they only work well when full.

  13. That coffee pot. Just beautiful. Brings back memories of holidays in France.

Leave a Reply

