Rigoletto in his christening robe…

Rigoletto2_75cl_mar28_1786Last week I had to undertake the arduous task of tasting Rigoletto, a new cuvée at Prieuré La Chaume, whilst talking to Christian Chabirand, from whose loins Rigoletto sprang, about shooting a portrait of the new born in his christening outfit. Not exactly from his loins, all right, but from the 12 hectares of this small, but excellent, vignoble in the wine wilderness of the Vendée, that he and Estelle Chabirand planted in 1998 and which now produces a range of structured reds, a delicious Chardonnay and a couple of very sexy rosés. If you’re driving through the South Vendee, head for Vix and Prieuré La Chaume to buy some unexpected Vendéen goodies. Prieure La Chaume. D200 Aug 150010 cropped

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Digital photography, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, French countryside, Landscapes, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Vendee, Vineyard, Wine, wine, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Rigoletto in his christening robe…

  1. Mad Dog says:

    You’ll have to tell us more – I don’t think I’ll be down that way for a while, more’s the pity ;-(

  2. I wish! Looks divine, as I am sure is the taste.

  3. Roger, this has to be part of a future book project. I think it will be within the realm of my idea. Of course, by the time I get around to it, none of us may be here. 🙂 At least two more and possibly three ahead of this idea.

  4. I’d go just to see where you took that photograph.. Lovely view!

  5. Eha says:

    Glad to see Rigoletto seems properly corked! I still am not used to opening a good bottle of wine like a tomato sauce bottle!!!

  6. Michelle says:

    It’s obviously a hard job, Roger. Glad you were up to it. 🙂

  7. Tandy says:

    I shall bookmark this for when we visit the area 🙂

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    With so much work capturing your attention, Roger, it’s a wonder you’ve still time to photograph anything, let alone perform such a masterful job.

  9. That view is beautiful, Roger. And the hillside scene looks nice, too.

  10. “Arduous task…” How ever do you cope? 😉
    I love red wine. . . .

  11. A beautiful baby! I might be passing near there soon. I didn’t know there were vineyards in that part of the Vendée.

    • The Vendee is not famous for wine. Prieure La Chaume is unusually good. Christian Chabirand won young wine maker of the Loire in 2009, and he really knows what he’s doing. His are the only Vendee wines that you will find in a Michelin starred restaurant – not that I’ve been to one since I moved to France:)

  12. And I thought you were going to sing to me 🙂

  13. We may have to make a slight detour when we head back to Spain!

  14. …and I was wondering where to plan our next trip to…

Leave a Reply

