Early clout casting….

breakfast_pool_0020The first sight of the sun today brought out the mad dog in this Englishman. My mission was firewood cutting and I had set about the job in my standard kit of a thick Aran knit sailing sweater under an all weather winter coat with thermally protected extremities. Had I carried on thus attired, past the first two logs, I would have lost so much weight, through perspiration, that, having become a shadow of my former self, I would have had to give up with the axe and turn on the electric heating in the house for enough time for me to make a noose and hang myself before the bill arrived. Instead, I took off the two layers of insulation and revelled in what I can only describe as wonderful, warm sunlight. Β As in a mirage, this summer’s breakfast appeared before me, making me reach out and eat a mouthful of sawdust.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, Breakfast, Coffee, Dreams, Expectation, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Fruit, Garden, Illusion, peaches, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Virtual, Weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Early clout casting….

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’ll be keeping the two sweaters on here – no sunshine or peaches in England πŸ˜‰

  2. Yeah, I’m with MD here. Spring started with rain and a dark sky… πŸ˜‰

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    As cold as our weather has been, yesterday, with a high temperature barely reaching the freezing point, I saw a young man walking down a busy street, shirtless. Worse yet, he wasn’t carrying a coat or shirt, so, he apparently left home, or wherever he was staying, that way. You say you ate sawdust? I bet this guy smoked some. Well, he smoked something, all right.

  4. I love your writing, I always need to reach for my dictionary, which in my case is good.

  5. Lucky you – sunshine! We had 54 packs of solid wood flooring delivered this morning and the delivery guys started out dressed much like you and by the end they were almost down to their undies πŸ™‚

  6. Glad you’re getting some sun. Windy and chilly here for a change.

  7. spree says:

    Your mirage was lovely while it lasted (and, I don’t mean to gloat) I’m still enjoying it. You deserve your day in the sun Roger…glad you’ve got it!

  8. Luckily you took off the two layers. When I even start getting close to over-heated, I stop whatever I’m doing altogether.

  9. That’s a beautiful mirage πŸ™‚ In time, Roger, in time. I know you’ll be wowing us with in-season berry shots and the like. I can’t wait!

  10. Eha says:

    The noose seems rather extreme for yours truly but some other method will have to thought off in the next three weeks ere the dreaded power bill arrives in the box . . . and, yes, I realize it’s only autumn here! Fashionable locally to blame the 150% rise in two years on our large carbon tax – in reality all of our infrastructure needs refurbishment and this is a big, big country! . . .

  11. Michelle says:

    And what a nice mirage it is. Ah, summer.

  12. Tandy says:

    Glad summer is on its way. I am looking forward to some decent weather when we are in Italy πŸ™‚

  13. You are so funny! And a master of still life and color or maybe, just a master photographer.

  14. Karen says:

    Enjoy your warmth…it has to be lovely after winter’s chill.

Leave a Reply

