the bitterness of sugar…..

financiers_broken_1663Financiers the world over are suffering and my heart bleeds for them, poor little bankers. These sanguine emotions have awakened the atavistic cannibal in me, so I’ve started to eat them, financiers that is, at every opportunity. One might say that this is wasteful. What if we run out of financiers? Well, I can put your minds at rest. Financiers are very easy to make, and funnily enough, equally easy to break. These little beauties are sweet enough to be the cakey avatar of Lord Sugar, without the bitterness. Just pop him in your mouth and say goodbye to another financier – there’s plenty more where he came from.

Financiers_modified

Β 

Β 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, baking, Baking, Cooking, desserts, Excellence, financiers, financiers, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Recipes, Sugar, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to the bitterness of sugar…..

  1. I don’t want any cake but your pictures always make me think I do πŸ˜‰

  2. Tessa says:

    Beautiful! I really like that they are small bite sized servings.

  3. Sinclair 3168 says:

    Mmm looks really good, especially for about now – elevenses here. Will bookmark this bleeding financier.

  4. Great. This post has given me an excuse to feed my cravings and justify it by telling MTM I am doing the world a favor……… πŸ™‚

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    ” …so eat them quickly.” Soo not a problem. πŸ™‚

  6. I love the look of those crusty edges – they must be delicious. Fortunately i just had my afternoon tea so I am not that tempted to try your recipe………stop it already!!!! πŸ™‚

  7. Mad Dog says:

    I’ll be going down to Canary Wharf at the crack of dawn to bag a couple of financiers. Should I roast them on a spit or chop them up and braise them? Should I marinade them to avoid them tasting bitter?

  8. I felt the same way when I first had Madeleines. Then, I learned how to make them and my concerns were assuaged.

  9. Ground almonds sure make for wonderful desserts.

  10. Michelle says:

    Ah, yes, glad to see some good coming from the financiers who have otherwise ruined everything. (Those look wonderful, by the way.)

  11. Eha says:

    But we suffer alongside the financiers, the two-legged kind – and that does not taste so good!!

  12. Tandy says:

    I see yours have honey in them, I shall have to try that. I used one recipe from the little loaf and it was a dismal failure!

  13. Ooh, didn’t realise they were so straightforward. Need to make short work of a few financiers soon!

  14. Definitely the best way to treat financiers!

  15. fransiweinstein says:

    Mmmm. Sounds delicious.

  16. Karen says:

    With all my travels to France, I’ve never had this little cake. I love the little brown edges.

  17. Let them eat cake! Too bad the human version isn’t so easy to dispatch…

  18. I love this post – great recipe, great wit!! Will have to dig out my financier moulds and make some toute de suite!

  19. Absolutely charming post πŸ™‚

  20. Am going to make them for birthday tea today – seems a wonderfully simple recipe – and fab pic x

  21. Pingback: ffwD: Financiers | Yummy Chunklet

  22. Wow! It looks delicious. I’ll keep this recipe and bake a few of these this weekend…can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

