A cute accent…..

cornflakes_fromage_blanc_1657

Corn flakes with fromage blanc, honey and dried cranberries.

Corn Flakes have appeared in my life again after many years absence.  I had them for breakfast this morning, admittedly in a sort of de- constructed, self conscious “foodie” way, but they were very good and served to reawaken childhood memories of a time when breakfast was not breakfast without the presence of the big box that dominated the table.Corn_flakes_rockwell_crop The illustrated edifice afforded a legitimate and effective hiding place from over attentive adults, and it was covered with stuff to read — over and over again or, even better, until it was empty and a new packet, with a new gift and new stuff to read, arrived. This genre of box, from the 50’s, is probably the style that remains uppermost in my memory. I think the reason for that is that I identified the box, even then, with that fantasy land called America. I only knew America from films, comics and history books and nothing much has changed except for two lightening visits during which I learnt less about America than I had gleaned from the cereal packet. I have met more Americans in the past 5 years, through Camerahols and my blog, than during any other single time in my life and the differences in life, and language, on either side of the Atlantic ocean have become more defined. Spoken and written language have always fascinated me in that written language is also affected by spoken intonation. The English speaking nations all speak the same language with incredibly different intonations so that the same group of words spoken by natives of Cardiff, Mumbai, Glasgow,Sydney and Dallas would be initially unrecognisable to each other and certainly hard to understand. The following is an interesting example of a well known fairy story that is only recognisable when read with a broad, mid western American accent – I think. On second thoughts it works better with an extreme Southern accent – maybe from Charleston.

Want’s pawn term (is spoken as “Once upon a time” is your starter) dare worsted ladle gull hoe lift wetter murder inner ladle cordage honor itch offer lodge, dock florist. Disc ladle gull orphan worry ladle cluck wetter putty ladle rat hut, end fur disc raisin pimple colder Ladle Rat Rotten Hut.

See what you make of that.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Accents, Breakfast, Cereal, Corn flakes, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Honey, Language, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to A cute accent…..

  1. Mad Dog says:

    ROFL – I can’t understand a word of that text (it looks like German), but I can understand all the spoken American accents, but I think it helps that I lived in the South.
    I loved the cartoons on the packet and the free gifts too 😉

  2. Sounds like Scotland or something but not American 🙂 Nice bowl picture.

  3. Graham says:

    Cornflakes, top off the milk, bacon and eggs for breakfast, – jumpers for goalposts –
    those were the days. Except for rationing of course.

    • That was the time Graham. I even remember walking home from a shopping expedition and being trusted to hold onto the ration book as my mother had so many bags to carry.I got bored with the responsibilty and threw it away,over a fence onto some railway tracks. My life continued in that way:)

  4. I got as far as lodge…

  5. Ewe nayver gart tuh thuh beeyug bayed werlf.

  6. Roz MacAllan says:

    Our Aunty gave us some of her ration tickets and we have them framed to remind us of another era when people could not buy anything just because they could afford it, on the white market that is.

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Someone should tell Grandma there’s a wolf about.
    I don’t know how long it took you to write that, Roger, but I sure as hell enjoyed it

  8. Corn Flakes never looked so good.

    Most of us Midwesterners have little to no accent compared to the rest of the country. 🙂 (Minnesota and the Chicago area being the exceptions.) I can barely decipher the passage, so a Southerner may have better luck. Looking forward to the translation.

    I have a friend in England, and am constantly surprised at the differences in our language. Kind of like the difference between Parisian French and French Canadian.

  9. Eha says:

    Isn’t that the truth!! Laughed after I finished your ‘Red Riding Hood’ tale Southern style, absolutely roared after reading kateshrewsday’s addition 😀 !!! It isn’t just the accent tho’: writing in quirky Australian with an Estonian background anyway, I have been aghast time and again about seemingly having managed ‘Doubledutch’ on international blogs 🙂 !

  10. Hip Hip Hooray, years of living in the South and I still can’t translate that. They can take the boy out of the East Coast, but they can’t take the East Coast out of the boy. Speaking of corn flakes, one of our favorite weekday dishes is still cornflake chicken. Makes one heck or a crust. Or karuhust.

  11. cecilia says:

    No bloody idea mate. .. i use to be able to quote the weetbix box verbatim! now I am going back to your puzzle, i LOVE phonetics… c

  12. can Google translate that for me? 🙂 PS Best looking bowl of cornflakes I have ever seen.

  13. Kenneth Hope says:

    Loved it Roger, had to laugh out loud.

  14. Ooh, struggled with it but I think I got there in the end. Love your deconstrucetd cornflakes!

  15. Thank goodness for the comments as I hadn’t a clue what fairy tale you were talking about! Thank goodness no one talks like that up here. My head would spin. 🙂

  16. Tandy says:

    Okay, I’m clueless as to what that is. Chaucer is way easier to read 🙂

  17. Michelle says:

    You’re not making fun of us Southerners, are you? 😉

  18. That’s the fanciest bowl of corn flakes I’ve ever seen.

  19. Karen says:

    Boy…if you intended us to spend a lot of time at your blog, you did a terrific job. I like the way you eat your corn flakes. I eat mine without milk…just fruit and flakes. Fromage blanc makes it gourmet.

  20. Ha! How brilliant!… Corn flakes are my “go-back-to-childhood-breakfast” Unfortunately, with all that fuss of carbs and diets, I don’t eat it very often, and my children prefer sugary versions of cereal, so it’s been a long time since my last bowl… (Imagine that with a slight Panamanian accent 😉 )
    As for the riddle, I must admit that I cheated and goggled it… very interesting. But I won’t post the translation…don’t want to spoil the mystery… 🙂

  21. lauralayne says:

    This sounds amazing (and easy which is always nice)! I am going to have it next week for my breakfasts. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

