Cracks start to show in cake security..

cake_safe_crumbs1_1603The picture above clearly illustrates the shortcomings of the cake safe. Having made a cake, I place it on a cake stand under the cake dome where it will be free from the ravages of mice, should there be any. and flies. A power greater than either of these has breached the defences. Cake is my Vietnam. I create, supply and defend only to find in the morning that all the good work has been undone. I feel like playing “The Ride of Valkyries”, making a helicopterish noise and setting fire to the kitchen, but no, I immediately invest in more eggs, flour, butter and jam and throw them at the problem. And so it has gone on. Saving Private Cake is a hopeless task, but there would be an outcry if I announced that I was pulling out of cake making. There is a more worrying side to the problem in that I’m pretty sure that the thief is me. I’ve caught myself at it a couple of times but said nothing as my mouth was full. Whoever said “There’s nothing worse than bad manners” had lived a very sheltered life and certainly had never visited Peckham. It’s sometimes best to say absolutely nothing as it only embarrasses and I don’t think it solves the problem. Oh, look what’s just come out of the oven. Victoria_sponge_1586

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Baking, cake, Cooking, Cream, Digital photography, Eggs, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Humour, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Still life, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Cracks start to show in cake security..

  1. Your bottom picture almost makes me want a bite. At least of the whipped cream 🙂

  2. Tandy says:

    I shall also blame my cakes disappearing on a thief! Better than blaming myself even though the evidence is clear on my hips 🙂

  3. Ah, the mystery is solved. Though the cake thief keeps putting it back on my hips. Now that is very rude indeed.

  4. I love the few crumbs lingering just outside the cake safe.
    But why should there be a safe at all? Enjoy and don’t apologize: at least not to me! My picture would show a smaller piece left in the safe and a lot more crumbs outside.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    You’ve got some big mice, with Sabatier like teeth 😉

  6. I blame the midnight munchies…..

  7. spree says:

    It doesn’t often happen that the first sound that comes out of my mouth in the morning is a guffaw. Today was such a morning. and i hank you. 🙂

  8. You made me laugh so much, Roger! Phil turns down cake during the day with the sanctimoniousness of the Pope, but at night he becomes a cake-devouring fiend. Someone find a cake safe with a padlock.

  9. Eha says:

    Thank God I neither make nor eat cake . . . on the other hand no interesting mysteries to solve either 🙂 !

  10. Amy Tong says:

    Oh my…Your cake looks so gorgeous and tempting. If I make one, I’m afraid I’ll only see crumbs on the cake stand the next day. 😛

  11. The last time I made dessert, it was tarts. Individual portions. I ate three. Therefore, I cannot say that making cake in individual servings would solve this problem………

  12. We need about five of those covers in the summer. Glad someone else uses them.

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    My first thought, after wishing I had a piece of cake, was that my cake marauder(s) had gone transcontinental. With the Conrcorde gone, I knew that impossible. The only logical explanation, therefore, is that you and I are victims of a diabolical network of cake thieves. I hope, together, we can get to the bottom of this. My cakes are disappearing at an alarming rate every night and apparently the stress is causing me to gain weight.

  14. Well done! PS can I have a piece too?

  15. That looks quite irresistible, to any kind of thief, and to me even though I don’t make or eat cakes much.

  16. moonsinging says:

    hmmm – I love those crumbles lingering there too. Are you sure they weren’t made as a path guiding those faithful to the redeeming properties of a cake well made? I swear they look just like that to me . .
    (blushing wannabe cake thief)

    p.s.: thanks for the lovely post Roger : )

  17. Forget the first cake! It’s gone! Greedily protect and defend the one from the oven!

  18. Karen says:

    I couldn’t trust myself with your cake either…it simply cries more.

  19. Michelle says:

    What a fine cake.

  20. Rachel says:

    Hmmm perhaps a brick on top of the “safe” to keep it saf”er”? Cake is *never* safe around me! Mmmm…

  21. I may be cynical, but those crumbs have decoy written all over them; your cake thief is human 🙂

Leave a Reply

