Fromage fouette and baies roses… a taste of Spring

fromage_fouette_9704February is at last grinding to its weary end. Much as I hate the thought of wishing even a single hour of my life away, I do find February enervating. This does not just relate to this February, but to every February that I can remember which, come to think of it, probably isn’t many. However, I am feeling perked by the fact that it’s not a leap year and I can say my farewells to February 2013. March holds the magic day when the clocks spring forward, the evenings begin to lengthen and the world changes. There is a feeling of new life in the air and I start patiently looking out of the office window for the first signs in the forest canopy of that green haze that says Spring has arrived.

As to the picture.The fromage fouetté is a fresh, light and airy cheese from Brittany which is delicious when eaten with a sprinkling of baies roses.

Oh yes, there was something good about this February. I just received a notification that I’ve been short listed as the Pink Lady Food Photographer of the Year 2013

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, Baies Roses, Cheese, Cream, Digital photography, Expectation, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, French countryside, Fromage fouette, Herbs and Spices, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Fromage fouette and baies roses… a taste of Spring

  1. An idea and picture worth waiting for. Congratulations on the notification!

  2. Congrats on being shortlisted. Very exciting. And I too am glad to see the back of February. 🙂

  3. Congrats on the shorlisting, so very well deserved! I just want to sink my teeth into that cheese, it looks so beautiful. And thanks for the reminder about the clocks going forward – yay!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Euridice is reborn!
    Good luck with the Pink Lady 😉

  5. You are in very good company at Pink Lady.

  6. Karen says:

    First of all congratulations! If keeping your fingers crossed works, mine are. I’m with you about looking forward to March as maybe the snow will stop. I too enjoy the first green haze on the trees…a sure sign of spring.

  7. Spring is in the air. The image of the baguette decorated with a baies roses topped fromage fouetté overshadows dismal February, Roger. There is light. Congrats on being shortlisted. Which photo did you submit? Can you send a link as I couldn’t locate it?

  8. Hey, congrats! Best of luck to you.
    That cheese looks divine…makes me want to return to Bretagne.

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    This certainly is good news, Roger. Congratulations and good luck!

  10. Eha says:

    Thirteen hours into the Ides of March: with so many good vibes pushing you along the count will just have to be wrong if . . .

  11. Tessa says:

    Congratulations! I hope that you win. Your photography is gorgeous!

  12. Tandy says:

    Congratulations, well deserved 🙂

  13. Many congrats, Roger. Please keep us posted, and let me know if I need to go anywhere and vote for you. I’m not sure that’s how this competition works, but I’m happy to help if necessary.

    On a different note, I am always happy to see the end of February, because March is my birthday month.

  14. Fantastic news about being named a finalist! Bonne chance!

  15. Fantastic news about the award, Roger. All the best. And Happy March.

  16. Michelle says:

    Hooray for Pink Lady, March and “fast time”!

  17. Light and colour that foretell spring. I’ve never eaten that cheese but I do love baies roses with goats cheese (and foie gras too). Well, I’m writing this on 2 March, so it seems we’ve all made it through another February! Congratulations on the shortlist place.

Leave a Reply

