Keeping my pair warm in a cold spell…

pear_pastry_0907I found myself in the position of Algernon Moncrieff’s manservant, Lane, this morning. There were no Passe Crassane pears to be had in the shops.

“No Passe Crassane at all, Lane? “.

“None, Sir. Not even for ready money”.

I drifted back home disconsolately  I was warmed with the thought that I had seen two of them in the fruit bowl before I had left for the shops, but only one remained. The Passe Crassane pears had been wolfed down or used in cakes. There is a simple,classic French dessert called La Bourdaine which consists of a very good dessert apple, cored and stuffed with quince or plum jam and then wrapped in sablé pastry. I felt that the last of the PC’s would make a fine alternative, especially if it was stuffed with some membrillo to enhance the hint of quince that it already possessed. It seems I was right. pear_pastry_cut.0929

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Baking, Cookery Writers, Cooking, Cuisine bourgeoise, desserts, Elizabeth David, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Pears, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Quince, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Keeping my pair warm in a cold spell…

  1. Beautiful Roger, I love the way those beautiful pears nestle into that pastry like a warm blanket.
    Did you go with the creme anglais?
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. Fantastic! & I don’t even like pears! 🙂

  3. I’m impressed your pastry stayed intact after the inevitable slice!

  4. How long did that last? Was it even cool when you cut it?

  5. fransiweinstein says:

    I can smell them, fresh out of the oven. I do love pears.

  6. Michelle says:

    So glad you took that last pear seriously. Would be so shallow to do otherwise!

  7. Mad Dog says:

    I’m seriously impressed – great idea and execution 🙂

  8. Almost too beautiful to eat.

  9. vyvacious says:

    Haha love the title!

  10. How marvelous to be away and come back to a vision of these pairs warming in their little coats:) What a fabulous idea!! xx

  11. Eha says:

    One track mind? Sire, I believe it not 😉 !

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    I so enjoy visiting here, Roger. I started to chuckle the moment I read this post’s title in my “Inbox”. You certainly didn’t disappoint, in word or photography.

  13. Tandy says:

    What a great way to keep a pair warm! And tasty I’m sure 🙂

  14. spree says:

    Both brilliant and gorgeous! What an exquisite treat.

  15. Oh the inspiration! I want to try a few things now. 🙂

  16. Oh, Yum. At times like this all my vocabulary flies fleet-footed away and I amd left with only a rumbling stomach.

  17. Well, it looks delicious, so I guess you were right 😉

  18. You have a beautiful blog with inspirational photography, it was a pleasure to visit!

  19. Karen says:

    Warm and comforting tastes from your last pear.

Leave a Reply

