Extra post:My writing desk

I’m the least competitive person on the planet, but the post by Kate Shrewsday made me think about my writing desk and the contest set by Spirit Lights the Way.kitchen_coca_cola2_7767 My writing desk is the place where I am when I think of what I want to write.It may be the kitchen where I cook and take pictures or the wood pile when I am cutting wood for the fire. On one memorable occasion it was the ditch into which I had just fallen after one glass too many. The process is like ersatz mental arithmetic. When the calculations become too many or too confusing to retain I start to jot fragments of thoughts on paper. My computer desk is the workshop where I try to make something tangible from those thoughts.I became a photographer because I never knew when a painting was finished. I write because images make me think of words.firewood_wine_0615

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Extra post:My writing desk

  1. LOVE this, Roger, especially the ditch bit. I can just imagine you lyingthere, composing away.

  2. nrhatch says:

    Thanks for sharing a slice of your writing life, Roger. Wonderful images. 😀

  3. I loved sitting in that kitchen. Beautiful shot of THE Rose 🙂

  4. Mad Dog says:

    I like your desk, but failed to spot the Coca Cola…
    Great wood basket – those bottles must grow on trees 🙂

  5. Lisaman says:

    Wine by the fire place is a good place to be creative too!!

  6. …but you turned the wine bottles so we couldn’t read the labels. And I’m glad you were composing in the ditch: not composting!

  7. I love your blog, the stories and photos often make me smile as well as to inspire.

  8. Roger, I’m with you in that ditch. I did not enter this contest, because I am always writing. It’s hard to describe exactly where it happens, because it is perpetual for me. One of the last places I write, though, is at an actual desk. 🙂

    I love the pictures. I had an egg just like that for breakfast.

  9. Eha says:

    Hmmm, I kind’of live amongst organized ‘Bohemian’ chaos most of the time, but never think of a word or try to formulate a sentence until I do sit behind my desk where i can reach for anything without looking! Love the garden flowering outside the window but metres away too! Perchance would make a more inspired job in a ditch 😀 ?

  10. I like your style Roger 🙂

  11. Tandy says:

    I love your reason for becoming a photographer Roger 🙂

  12. Pingback: Do you want to peek in through my windows? | thekitchensgarden

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    Great post, Roger. Can’t say that I ever ended up in a ditch, I’m afraid. Damn city paved over ’em all and installed curbs. Curb-tripping hurts — but I never ended up in hospital. (Un)Fortunately, there’s still time …

  14. Thank you so much, Roger, for commenting on my blog, I was overwhelmed. I didn’t know you nor your work, but I’m a follower at your blog from today on. I wish some time in my life I had the means to attend one of your courses… 😉

  15. What’s odd is that for some reason, I always thought of you having a slim laptop and just writing your posts outside in random places.

  16. Hello Roger…lovely to meet you via Nancy’s writing desk competition. I LOVE your photos…don’t know which would encourage me to write more…the country kitchen…or the basket of vino.:)

  17. Grannymar says:

    A warm fire, a glass of wine and the laptop in a comfy chair…. Way to go. I like this competition entry.

    I fell flat on my face in the street a couple of times (ground kissing is not something to be encouraged), while sitting in A&E my thoughts were ‘Can I get a blog post out of this?’

  18. Pingback: The Writer’s Desk ~ Let the Voting Begin! « Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

