Should Joy be released?

wine_glasses_xmas_0553Sobriety is low on my list of seasonal wishes and yet, as I grow older, I find myself slowly growing into a more sober mood during this week of festivities than at any other time of the year. There is an inertia; a sense of not living but of waiting. For the rest of the year we have actors, wannabes and TV presenters to do continual smiling for us. At this time of year it becomes clear to me that they earn their money. The lack of a permasmile during  Xmas  invokes the “Is everything all right?” question. This question is purely rhetorical and translates as “I can’t see your teeth. Are you trying to fuck up Christmas?”. Ingrate that I am, nothing pleases me more than the gentle interludes between each bout of prearranged and predetermined joy and celebration. Let Joy be unconfined – not likely, I think she’s guilty as Hell.foie_gras_xmas_0556 No question the goose got fat – just look at its liver!

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Digital photography, Drinks, Emotion, Excess, Expectation, family, Foie Gras, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, friendship, Humour, lifestyle, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Should Joy be released?

  1. A lovely fat liver! Hope you haven’t given yours too much of a break this week!

  2. Tessa says:

    Hey! Wait a minute… I like Joy! Guilty or not, Joy is a really good friend of mine. Grumpy is the one who needs to be confined :). Have a wonderful New Year!

  3. Talk about bah humbug, you’re almost as bad as me; indeed, that could’ve been me saying it. Do you think it comes with age or is it just a sign of the times?

  4. Oh let it rip I say! Well, apart from Nigella Lawson who smiles far too much all year round for my liking 😉

  5. John Harvey says:

    SO completely agree, and love your turn of phrase. Bring on the new year! Wishing you and Jenny a very happy 2013.

  6. Mad Dog says:

    I’m all for joyful sincerity, but I’ve found myself shouting (like Father Jack) at the insincere assholes on TV this Christmas. However, having seen Jerry Sadowitz do Jimmy Saville last night, I’m back to feeling very calm 🙂
    DRINK!

  7. As I read this, the TV is showing an ad for “smiling lessons” – a guide book for after your get your teeth implanted and whitened c/o ClearChoice 🙂 Bring on the fat and booze!! Happy New Year!

  8. Andy Szpuk says:

    I would enquire ‘how’s tricks?’ Roger, but I’ve got a feeling I know what you might say.

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    Oh, Roger. I do so enjoy coming here. You never disappoint in word or photo.
    May you and Jenny have a wonderful New Year.

  10. Michelle says:

    Bah. Humbug. Happy new year, Roger. And may I please have a slice of that foie gras?

  11. Eha says:

    Christmas has been my quiet time of year for a few decades already: that gives me joy and makes me smile and I’ll emerge like a butterfly from a chrysalis the day after New Year all ready to go! Oh, that did not stop me from pinching a tad of that foie gras whilst you were not looking . . . got my own glass . . . . 🙂 !

  12. cecilia says:

    Sobriety.. what the hell is that, when its at home?!.. c

  13. Tandy says:

    Joy should be an unbridled celebration anytime!

  14. Twixtmas: I spend it dreading the future rather. And it always turns out better than my grim forecasts borne out of this strange time. I love the idea of a permasmile, in theory rather than practice.

  15. ROGER, you are a gem. I have just nominated you for the SHINE ON award. Congratulations. Just log onto my blog, copy the rules onto your blog and enjoy.

  16. Cin-Cin!!! Have a wonderful 2013!!!

  17. Smiling is just for showing off expensive dentistry 🙂

Leave a Reply

