A jolly good egg…..

egg_barcode_0515 copy 3Another encounter with the scanner has shown me that the gift of giving can permeate the mind of even the meanest spirited electronic brain. It was as though I had encountered the reanimated, fully epiphanised Scrooge, in mechanical form, cheerily waiting at the checkout with the sole purpose of bringing joy to every Tiny Tim that passed a bar code over his platen. I was in the guise of a Wiser man, bearing a box of six eggs, as is my wont. I stood before the altar of he whom I supposed was still the steely eyed Moolah, Lord of the Dosh and Keeper of the fabled Wonga. I was not expecting love, I was ready for conflict and confusion. Having performed the initial rites I was prepared, this time, for the six passes of the egg box. The first pass was met with the curt bleep of approval and I proceeded to the second pass for the second egg. Rejection can be hard, but the Scanner’s rejection was, miraculously, kindness itself. His electronic screen of a face beamed with the simple Christmas message – 28ctms, pay up now. A box of six jolly good eggs for 28ctms the lot. Like a stick of Brighton rock with the bar code running through it. My toast had fallen butter side up. I have a feeling that this conversion may not be as permanent as the one that we assume affected Scrooge.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Art photography, Christmas, Digital photography, Eggs, Emotion, Expectation, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Humour, Memory, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Religion, Still life, Three Wise Men, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A jolly good egg…..

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Did you go back for another six boxes 😉

  2. Eha says:

    Methinks I may play the ‘Muppet’s Christmas Carol’ after this one!

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    Your toast had fallen up, indeed, but I’ve a feeling that this is but the 2nd round of a championship bout, my Friend. Although you seem well-matched, I doubt that you’ll be able to outlast your opponent. My advice is to go for the technical knockout. Pull the plug.

  4. Tandy says:

    Ah, a much be result today 🙂

  5. Ha! There is something very meldrovian about your battle of the six eggs. A glorious victory Roger, which gave me a much-needed chuckle. Thank you.

  6. Karen says:

    I think it will be a soft termed victory but relish in the moment.

  7. Bargain – it was meant to be. Or should I say “and thus it came to pass”?!

Leave a Reply

