Always on a Sunday….

Sunday is about breakfast. If it’s done properly, like sex between Sting and Trudie, it can last all day but, as with all day sex, the salt begins to lose its savour  after an hour or two…maybe that’s old age. Eating is only a part of Sunday breakfast as the spirit of the feast embraces much more. It’s to do with forgetting how dreadfully you behaved on Saturday night, or celebrating how well it all turned out. It can be a comforting time of selfishness or a martyrdom of selflessness when the rash thought of “I’ll cook breakfast for everyone” stops being a generous abstraction as the words tumble unintentionally from your lips. It is one of the pleasant moments when extreme youth and old age run parallel – incontinence is a bad moment, doing what the fuck you like with your food at breakfast is a good moment. All days are the same to me now, but a good breakfast coincided with Sunday today.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Boiled eggs, Cooking, Digital photography, Eggs, Food and Photography, Food photographer, lifestyle, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Sex, Still life, Sunday, Sunday breakfast, Sunday papers, Toast, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Always on a Sunday….

  1. spree says:

    Adore those photos Roger! We nicknamed these “smash eggs” when our kids were little. But smash eggs have never looked quite so simply elegant…

  2. Tandy says:

    Perfect breakfast 🙂

  3. Good morning.. where’s my egg;) Have a lovely day.. I trust you had a great Saturday night!

  4. SidevieW says:

    Its about knowing you have time to enjoy the breakfast

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Have an E for B 😉

  6. Andy Szpuk says:

    Breakfast with attitude, I like it, and the Sting reference is simply audacious.

  7. Wish I could do eggs like that. It’s always a gamble for me. So I usually just fry them….

  8. Egg yolk smeared on toast. Add some sausage and a bloody Mary and that would be my hangover breakfast.

  9. Wonderful eggy pictures (even though I don’t like eggs much) and your writing on breakfast made me laugh. I agree about the importance of Sunday breakfast – mine was an avocado rather than egg this morning, but for me equally enjoyable…..wish I’d photographed it now!

  10. My tummy is rumbling.
    Do you include black pudding in your breakfast?

  11. Rachel says:

    I am vehemently *not* an egg-in-the-morning girl, but I love your photos! Wow…

  12. Eha says:

    Laughingly remember the many Sunday morning breakfasts I attended on a dear doctor/diplomat girlfriend’s verandah [no time during the week]: a huge side table from about 9.30 am on – sides of smoked salmon, legs of delightful ham, slices of rare roast beef, jars of Scandinavian anchovies, all those baguettes etc AND then eggs looking just as yours. Oh, champagne ‘diluted’ with orange juice for about 10/60 and then . . . Twilight oft encroached ere . . . Yes, beautiful photos . . . yours, I mean!!

  13. Michelle says:

    Old or young, hungover or not, that’s one lovely egg.

  14. Wonderful writing, and you’ve actually made eggs look gorgeous. Well done.

  15. Roger, that is my favorite way to eat an egg.

  16. Many of us have avoided eggs because of high cholesterol. But Dr.Oz, on his TV show, assures us that one egg a day is good for us.

  17. Kenneth Hope says:

    Roger
    could not agree more. Sunday is the only day of the week I sit down to have breakfast.

  18. cecilia says:

    Well I lost you, you fell off my reader feeder again, I thought maybe you were busy and here you were all along, sitting eating breakfast and doing it all day long! Phew. When i am on holiday and my daughter arrives, she is the queen of breakfasts, she wakes up thinking about breakfast.. so i shall join you for a leisurely whatever the fuck i like.. and have a proper sit down. That will be in december, … not long now then.. c

  19. Aisha says:

    The eggs are perfectly done, I’m not a fan of runny eggs.

  20. Fabulous photo. I seem to have accidentally not been following last few posts. Damned clicky buttons.

Leave a Reply

