It’s the real thing….

“I’m worried about Jim” is a phrase that has remained in my memory since childhood, alongside the theme tune, played on a harp, that preceded this regular opening line to “Mrs.Dale’s Diary”. “Mrs.Dale’s Diary” was a radio soap opera that my mother enjoyed and to which I, as a young child, had no choice but to listen with Mother. It appeared to me, even then, that Mrs. Dale had very little to worry about with regard to her husband Jim, who was a highly respected doctor,  or indeed anything else in her seemingly idyllic suburban life which, come to think of it, could be a Damon Albarn song which would mean that this post would be a treasure trove of well turned lyrics. But he didn’t so it isn’t. The smell of two stroke mixture together with the coughing and spluttering of an old fashioned outboard motor resisting all efforts to be brought to life is another memory that sits in the vaults and is apposite because it runs parallel to coffee and a computer firing up, which events kick start my coughing and spluttering thought processes. This morning, just after my motor had started, the electricity was unexpectedly turned off for works in the lane outside, and I had to revert to pen and paper. The transition from virtual to reality was reasonably smooth but certainly noticeable . Our appetite for the virtual grows day by day. It is ever more surprising that we have the time or the will to realise our emotions as we seem much more at ease with the virtual.  Raw is there but is best disregarded as virtual has the advantage of being vicarious together with the valuable element of being “turn offable”. The relief of seeing others vilified, ridiculed and failing has become an addictive panacea for our own weaknesses whilst we can show our strength, from time to time, by” giving” generously or by joining in mass demonstrations of grief or joy. Long term emotions don’t sell very well. They can be difficult to start and are sometimes quite boring and predictable, so best left well alone. The panel above shows two versions of the same asparagus tart before and after retouching. Even the ends of asparagus have changed size, to add to the apparent deliciousness, using a digital process not unlike the Wonderbra.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in baking, Cooking, Digital photography, Emotion, Food and Photography, Food photographer, harmony, hypocrisy, Illusion, Memory, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Reality, Retouching, tart, Uncategorized, Vicarious pleasure, Virtual, Wonderbra, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to It’s the real thing….

  1. Lisaman says:

    How do I make things on my photographs appear bigger?…;-)

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I seem to have similar memories of Mrs. Dale’s Diary.
    I thought computers were supposed to be a time saving device.
    I seem to spend all my time online, retouching in Photoshop or editing in FCP…

    • I never spent the same amount of time in darkrooms as I now do on computer. I regret that now as I think I would have learned so much more about photography. I’ve tended to leave things until too late for the greater part of my life:)

      • Mad Dog says:

        I spent too much time in the dark room and was a good black and white printer, but I never liked it and am happy to swap it, along with the film bills, for Photoshop. I’m not sure I like the look (GUI) of CS 6 though…

      • I know what you mean, which is why I avoided it. Wishing I’d done it doesn’t involve me in doing it – virtual, you see! I’m with you on digital – I love it:)

  3. Andy Szpuk says:

    Uplifting. Both physically and philosophically. Mrs Dale’s Diary was before my time though.

  4. Tandy says:

    I was wondering why you had put two photos side by side!

  5. “Long term emotions don’t sell very well” Hear, hear! We live in a disposable, superficial age, if the media are to be believed..

  6. Interesting how such subtle changes in a photo invoke a different response.. love your larger asparagus:)

  7. I can´t seem to see the photos 😦 But, as ever, loved the words!

  8. An interesting post! Both with the play of pictures and your thoughts.

  9. I don’t know Mrs.Dale, but remember my mom always having the radio on when we came home from school for lunch. Thus I became an unwilling listener of the soap opera, “Aunt Jenny.” And I still have the recipe for “Aunt Jenny’s pound cake.” As you might guess, Spry (vegetable shortening) was a sponsor.

  10. Long term anything doesn’t sell well, Roger. We are urged to engage people by making content ever briefer and pithier. I wonder if that’s a good thing.
    Clever pix 🙂

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    Now you’ve done it! The social media are already flooded with photos of questionable authenticity. Now that you’ve told everyone about “liquify”, it won’t be long before the home pages of sites like FaceBook will sport disclaimers, “Objects in photos may appear larger than they are.”
    🙂

  12. Okay. Where is the photo manipulator that tricks my stomach into thinking it is full simply by looking at a picture?

    I spent much of the weekend with unreliable internet. While I don’t know what I’d do without my devices, it was nice to gaze through the window of the car, watch the changing light, and yell, “Stop!” once in a while.

    Plus, Miss Ethel forbade devices at her table. Too common.

  13. I’m hoping the before photo is the one on the left. If so, I do like that one better. More color; more pop. I know if I’m doing any retouching, it’s more for the color effect. I don’t know how to change the size of things.

  14. Eha says:

    Sugar: scrolling thru’ all this I have as yet again felt I belonged to Psych/Phil/Soc 101! Oh, and I have as yet to enrol for English :D! Glorious, Roger, keep on teaching me what writing, entertaining writing is all about 🙂 !

  15. This is a great work of composition, both literary and photographic 🙂

  16. I was about to say I can’t imagine listening to a serial program on the radio, then realized how wonderful it could be. Often the imagination is better than any director’s vision. Kind of like reading a fabulous book, then seeing they’ve completely miscast the entire ensemble for the movie.

    I like both photos.

  17. Tessa says:

    After studying the photos, I can see subtle differences. I like the warm color of the crust on the left however, I like the imperfect top and the brightness of the tart on the right… I really want to take a photography class. No, strike that… I really need to take a class. Lovely photos!

Leave a Reply

