Peachy or “Isn’t she simply smashing!”

How or why do we think of something good as peachy? Golly, I just can’t think why. There are some interesting on line definitions which include “He did a bully job” and “You look simply smashing”. These definitions may have been those that Miss Jean Brodie would have offered to her “creme de la creme”, whereas one would have hoped that the internet might have supplied something a little more current, a little more street. Peachy also means appertaining to peaches and their peachiness which was more apposite as I was the proud owner of a bowl of white peaches, just plucked from the tree. I was sitting by the fire, quietly mulling the meaning of “peachy”, feeling relieved that I didn’t have a butler called Rett because I felt like having a cup of tea and  his “frankly, I don’t give a damn” attitude to the fact that there  was no milk in the fridge would fuck me off intensely. A tart would be peachy. Now that is a good use of the word “peachy” in a simple sentence. Both the imagination and the appetite are inflamed. That rascal Talleyrand quipped “Show me another pleasure like dinner which comes every day and lasts for an hour”  (an epithet which I have lifted from a wonderful blog called Fudlatti0) and he would be the first to agree that looking forward to such a tart would be worth the wait. This is a good reason to call something peachy because it’s full of peaches and it’s very sexy.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking, desserts, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Peach Tart, peaches, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Still life, Talleyrand, tart, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Peachy or “Isn’t she simply smashing!”

  1. emmycooks says:

    I should make less jam and more tarts. It would be peachy to have a tart like this!

  2. Tandy says:

    That looks simply peachy!

  3. Peachy indeed! It looks delicious 🙂

  4. argone says:

    Quelle belle tarte ! Qu’avez-vous mis sur les fruits ? (ou dessous) merci !

  5. Oh my. What a sexy picture. And what a delicious looking tart!

  6. I’ll take a smashing peach (in a tart, or otherwise) over the Smashing Pumpkins any day….
    (Sorry. That sounded better in my head…)

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    A few less quarts of ice cream and my Summer wouldn’t have been any less peachy. Tarts would have filled the void.

  8. What a fuzzy close-up!

  9. Roger, you really are from the Culinary Naughty Set. That peach asks several questions.
    But like your peach tart your posts are moreish.

  10. Oh, you’re killin’ me. Really trying to resist things like this. Looks positively peachy-keen. 😉

  11. Mad Dog says:

    I’m reminded of Rude Food by David Thorpe 😉

  12. Rachel says:

    Peaches have come and gone here, but that tartish tart makes me huuuungry! Mmmm…

  13. Karen says:

    Between this post and the something warm and sticky post…you have made me quite hungry. I’m hoping the restaurant we are eating in tonight has something that looks half as good as your tart for dessert.

  14. I’m with Karen.. feeling just peckish enough for a peachy tart this morning:D

  15. I’m mulling you sitting by a fire and still having fresh peaches from the tree…..Both fantastic photos. I especially love the shine on the tart!

  16. A beautiful and very peachy tart. I’m a bit disappointed by Talleyrand, though – only an hour? Surely longer than that!

  17. daisyandthefox says:

    ooooo this looks soo goood!!! yum yum yum! 🙂

Leave a Reply

