Quince Charming…

I could have sworn that I had saved the draft of my current post just before I set off to the shops. Not only could I have sworn but I have sworn, plumbing new depths of profanity, but in spite of verbalising the most creative combinations of body parts and sexual behaviour,  that which was written is no longer. It is just as well that the 10 Commandments were not entrusted to a computer’s memory or we’d all be coveting our neighbour’s ass, unaware of how very naughty we were being, as opposed to current ass coveting, the naughtiness of which has been graven in stone lest we forget. Which brings me neatly to quinces and obsession which is where I was before I didn’t press the “save” button ( although I did,  Mr.Computer, and I know you’re listening). The problem with obsession is that it cannot be satisfied because the embellishments, brought about by expectation, are as insubstantial as thought itself. Spike Milligan describes the joy of a young man who has at last made the longed for intimate acquaintance with a woman’s breasts which arousing experience quickly palls as he runs out of things to do with them. Such is my experience with quinces. I love the look of them and when I see some I can’t wait to get my hands on them. Once in my hands I admire their soft rounded form, their downy texture and their ripeness. I weigh them, squeeze them,  juggle them and even, I confess, take pictures of them but in the end, my dream of quinceness remains unfulfilled. Membrillo and quince jellies are wonderful and toothsome delights but that which I like most about them resides in the fact that someone else made them.  Jellying and jamming are not in my remit. Painting and house repairs aren’t in my remit either, but sometimes I am led to cause damage to the house when those who should know better foolishly demand that I repair bits of it. A dim memory has just come to me of a photograph I did of a  roasted goose surrounded by roasted fruit, including golden crusted, juice seeping quinces. Maybe roasted quince would be good with confit de canard. I do hope so or I might have to start writing ” 50 New and Exciting things to throw a Quince at”

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Autumn, baking, Confit de Canard, Cooking, Digital photography, Expectation, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Fruit, Goose, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Quince, Still life, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Quince Charming…

  1. Graham says:

    There, but for a Runcible Spoon, go I.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    That’s definitely a beautiful quince and photo of it. You might get Adam Ant coming after you with a starting pistol over the title though 😉

  3. You used bad language Roger – can´t believe it of you! Will have to send you some quince jelly to calm things down 😉

  4. Oh, the blasted computer. I often wonder whether it truly makes life easier.

    We always have membrillo in the fridge. MTM fell in love with it when he lived in Barcelona. As a result of his obsession, I have always wondered what a quince looks like. This one is crunch-worthy. 🙂

  5. Well the upside is the computer acting up had you create this witty post. But oh sometimes I think the computers lie in wait just to mess with us….

  6. ceciliag says:

    We had a quince tree at the house on the beach, My Dad made the quince jelly, us kids had quince wars. They pack a good wallop! Each one of us, one after the other, took a testing bite and Never again! Ever again. After that is was target practrice on speeding beach kids! c

  7. I’ve seen quince growing on trees, but have never tasted it. My mother made chokecherry jam every year and that was enough to swear me off it forever. I can still see the steam billowing in the summer-hot kitchen.
    Lovely photo.

  8. Love the Spike MiIligan snatch. Made me laugh out loud. I know what you mean about jam. And quinces. I always feel I should be doing something with them.

  9. Hmm, now I’m intrigued by the possibility of making my own quince jelly. Thank you for the compliment about my photos lately. I’m trying to get better every day!

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    I just spent 2 hours on the phone with a “genius” as he tried to fix a really minor problem. When he was done, he bid me good day, 5 minutes later I noticed that my recipe software is gone. I’m waiting for him call back telling me how to fix it. This should be good.
    Your quince photo is fantastic, Roger, and I’ve absolutely no idea what to do with it.

  11. you take a good photo Roger!

  12. Eha says:

    I love the photo too, but, since I do not make nor eat jams or jellies or anything which has seen the sugarpot [well, there have to be some spoilsports in this world 🙂 !] and, to the best of my recollection have never eaten one even tho’ they have been in close proximity, I’ll just have to remain enjoying a beautiful image 😀 !

  13. Promenade Claire says:

    I generously let friends make the jelly and jams, I’m the generous type

  14. Tandy says:

    I get quite frustrated when the save button forgets to do its thing! Hope the roasting results in tasty quinces 🙂

  15. Lisaman says:

    And definitely dry to eat!!! Like a scone…they never taste as good as they smell!!!

  16. moonsinging says:

    lol, great post here
    I bought quince a lot last winter cause I love eating them . . usually baked in the oven as desert but also with sweet potatoes, potatoes, peppers, maybe an orange or apple, some rosemary, they make a great hearty side dish! I even made a sort of quince cheesecake (here’s a touched up photo of it: http://i647.photobucket.com/albums/uu195/adorb/summer%20food/DSCF9020.jpg) didn’t look too great but tasted delicious! I love their sourness and usually use honey or brown sugar to sweeten them a bit . . Hope the roasting turns out well!

  17. moonsinging says:

    oops, posted the untouched, pale photo instead . . :\

  18. Rachel says:

    You could throw quinces at me – I wouldn’t complain! Mmmm…

  19. Karen says:

    You had me laughing out loud and reading this post to my husband who also enjoys your sense of humor as much as I do. I’m not laughing at your loosing your post but your wonderful way with words. I had one quince tree in our orchard and lost it in an ice storm. What I loved best was the wonderful aroma that a bowl filled with quince gave to my kitchen.

  20. Made me smile and that is really important to me. As I was reading your blog out aloud it has made others laugh as we can all empathise with our bloomin computers undoing what we have already written, or the work we have done on an image not having saved properly before we move onto another.

  21. Pingback: Honeyed Quince and Vanilla Tarte Tatin with Marzipan – Quinces are in… | HOT MEALS NOW

Leave a Reply

