A taste of honey….

Details of dreams, on occasions, stay clear in my mind long after I have started my waking day.  Yesterday’s remnant was honey covered piano keys which, at the time, seemed to be such a perfect recollection of the bliss that is the hovering moment between sleep and consciousness. This morning I noticed the wooden planks that form our bedroom ceiling are painted white which only leaves the honey. Reading meaning into dreams is as useful as trying to decode the iconic opticians’ letter chart. As with religion, it will only make a difference if you are a believer. On the other hand, should you be a born worrier, unravelling the skeins of dreams will be an invaluable aid to increasing your apprehension. Having passed through life without removing the blinkers, even though I have become used to the roar and confusion of life’s traffic, I only see the danger as it is upon me which, although although daunting at the time, avoids the misery of apprehension. This being the case, I happily only retain the honey from my dreams.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, Dreams, Expectation, figs, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Fruit, harmony, Honey, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Still life, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A taste of honey….

  1. Figs and honey. Perfect, and you fig looks a little better than the ones I can get here in London. Might I suggest some ricotta to complement this wonderful combination? – James

  2. That is an amazing shot Roger and leaves me dreaming of our fig tree which I am hoping will have saved a few figs for us when we pop back to Spain next week.

  3. Quite the succulent shot…
    I need to practice ‘retaining only the honey’ instead of the weirdness…

  4. Oh, now that is a spectacular shot.

  5. That’s it. I will never take another picture of my food again, Roger, as I can never hope to approximate yours. 🙂

    I almost never remember my dreams, but I had one last night that had me living in a house with two vampires. I know what it all represents, making it less worrisome, but dang, I wish someone had given me some honey.

  6. What a gorgeous fig.
    So glad it was a dream. The thought of honey on piano keys gives me cold chills. 🙂

  7. Quite a photograph. Speaks eloquently.

  8. Eha says:

    Funny world: I only began dreaming at an age when one no longer seems to have the right to mention it! Now it seems to happen nightly: always gentle, fun dreams I sort’of recall in the morning and smile . . . did I do just something right on the journey . . . 🙂 !

  9. Tandy says:

    I used to have a saying on my study wall – worry is interest paid on trouble that is not yet due!

  10. If this were a perfume, I’d be all over it! I love warm smells and this just evokes delicious things!

  11. emmycooks says:

    I think your approach is a good one. And that photograph is among my favorites of yours–and I love all of them!

  12. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent! I had some figs from Portobello Market yesterday and they certainly didn’t live up to the freshly picked ones I’d eaten earlier in the week.

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve been buying figs of late, as you’ll soon learn, but none looked so good as the specimen you’ve presented here. Yours photo is superb!

  14. If you have led a blinkered life then the outcome in terms of the honey-fig photo look pretty rich to me ! That is a truly stunning photo. I so rarely remember my dreams, and if I do I certainly can’t remember them half an hour later, so I’m happily oblivious 🙂

Leave a Reply

