That’s very sexy, Petal

Gardening is good for my soul. Digging and laying paths are good for my body, at least so I try to convince myself as I nurse my aching ageing muscles. Watering, as long as the garden is small, is mesmeric and good for my seeing. This end of season light is low and soft as are the geranium flowers. Towards the end of the hot day the flower heads are as open as the beaks of young birds waiting to be fed. The stems stiffen as I water with the Β fine mist leaving heavy tear drops on the sated lips of the gorged blooms.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Digital photography, Excellence, France, Garden, Gardening, Geranium, Lobelia, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Soul, Still life, Uncategorized, Watering, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to That’s very sexy, Petal

  1. bellacorea says:

    Oh! yeah! Absolutely Sexy!

  2. Yes, it is…might just need a cold shower myself, after that πŸ˜‰

  3. Beautifully written and photographed.

  4. I’m blushing. This is worse/better than that strawberry!

  5. watering as mesmeric – perfect description !

  6. I have often dreamed of capturing such a shot but have never done it. Really lovely, Roger.

  7. Tandy says:

    Unbelievably beautiful πŸ™‚

  8. Now I have the vapours.

  9. Beautiful flowers, Roger! πŸ™‚

  10. Mad Dog says:

    You brought out the best in those flowers – “Hot sex!” as Bailey would say πŸ˜‰

  11. Eha says:

    Have to go back to the garden just left and ask my geraniums whether they are happy: methinks so . . . . little do they know that next week some branches will leave to see whether to stand on their own fragile root systems . . . . my deep pink ones softly wave to yours red . . .

  12. Karen says:

    I’ll never look at geraniums the same way again. And yes, gardening is definitely good for the soul.

  13. Phew – am off out for a stroll round the jungle we are dealing with here so that I can calm down!

  14. really beautiful. showered flowers πŸ™‚

  15. Wow.. a side I’ve not seen here before.. 50 Shades of Red (Hot!) !! Loved these photos and the description!!

  16. ceciliag says:

    Mercy she says fanning her face with her hands! is that flower blushing?.. c

Leave a Reply

