If you write, you have to read this…

” You can safely assume that you have created God in your own image when it turns out that God hates all the same people that you do”

I gleaned this piece of magic from a piece written by Ann Lammott and entitled “Shitty First Drafts”. I found it on a site called Buddha Rat – http://buddha-rat.squarespace.com/shitty-first-drafts/ – which I urge to look at.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to If you write, you have to read this…

  1. ceciliag says:

    i do and I did and thank you very much for pointing this out, what an incredibly refreshing perspective. c

  2. God, but I love that woman’s writing. I was given one of her books years ago by a customer, and have been a fan ever since…Thanks for linking to her.

  3. Oh, I’ve been visited by the vinegar-lipped Reader Lady more than a few times.
    Very inspiring piece–thanks for the link.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Thanks, Roger, for passing along the link. If this piece is any indication, I’m going to enjoy returning there again and again.

  5. Headed to the link now!

  6. Eha says:

    [Loved the link: you do not need for me to tell you that!]! God gave me the gift to do a few things reasonably well: writing good prose was not one of them . . . and do not even mention poetry! But may I put a somewhat different oblique view in place: Have a few chapters in a some totally unimportant books on the line of ‘getting there’: have wanted to edit, and then edit, and then edit again – and my editor [a pro psychologist] is screaming at me ‘Eha, what you first wrote is the real and honest version – no way are we going to change that’! Right or wrong: is there such a concept in life which holds true 🙂 !

  7. angela says:

    Read many of Lamott’s books over the years, including Bird by Bird, in which this essay may be listed. Ironically, I just started following her on FB this week– you’d probably not find it of much humor, but she is Highly political, ergo, she’s been banging her drum to raise money for the Pres. You might consider picking up Bird by Bird (there is also a dvd by same title)..it’s a treasure. ~

  8. Great post, great title, Roger. I trained in a journalist’s office: I would write 800 words, they’d pull me in, roast me over the coals and various misdemeanours and cut it to 600. Even Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein will have redrafted and redrafted to avoid being clanged in prison. Redrafting is what we do.

  9. Kana Tyler says:

    I love this Lamott piece–used to use it when I taught Freshman English (composition) classes at the university… 🙂

  10. Tandy says:

    Interesting quote!

Leave a Reply

