Strawberry fields…..

I never miss the flavour of strawberries out of the strawberry season, but whilst that season lasts, and this year it appears to be lasting forever, it is likely that there will be in our house a china bowl full of them, soaking up a light sprinkling of sugar as they patiently await the appearance of a meringue to accompany them to that Β strawberry nirvana that John Lennon had dreamt on all those years ago. There is very little that one can do to improve on a ripe , beautifully formed strawberry. I’m even loathe to add the sprinkling of sugar, but it does look good and it serves to create a wonderful juice beneath the berries. This particular set of berries had that look of being too good to be true, but they are truly good. I say are good but the truth is that were good, so good in fact that there was no resisting them for long even though I had employed the device of hiding them beneath a strawberry safe.

 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Art photography, desserts, Digital photography, Food and Photography, Food photographer, photography course, Photography holiday, strawberries, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Strawberry fields…..

  1. ceciliag says:

    Oh strawberries and meringues.. perfect. You are lucky to still have the good tasting ones in your markets.. c

  2. spree says:

    Those berries look on the petite side, and red clear through, like the wonderful flavorful berries we have in the Pacific Northwest. Yours look like perfection! (Did the meringue make it in time for the party?)

  3. I’m that way too – I have a hard time letting them sit long enough for the sugar to soak iin and make some juice! πŸ™‚

  4. ambrosiana says:

    Strawberry fields…forever! However, I just can “Imagine” how good they were.Lucky you!

  5. I don’t think describing a bowl of fresh strawberries could get any better!

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    You’re very fortunate to be enjoying an extended strawberry season. Our groceries have fresh strawberries on display year-round but for berries so large, there is a remarkable lack of taste. Now I only buy them from the farmers markets. Like tomatoes in January, I’d rather do without.

  7. They look wonderful, and especially tempting I think in that lovely shot of them beneath the ‘safe’! Haven’t seen strawberries here for months.

  8. Oh my. That one strawberry made me blush.

  9. Michelle says:

    I don’t know why nobody in America seems to grow the everbearers that are so popular in France. A couple of years ago, we did a blog post from France about strawberries in the fall and all our locavore friends freaked! We were like, calm down folks, they’re not flying them in from the southern hemisphere; they grow them here. Your beautiful photos are making me think about upcoming strawberry desserts as we speak…

  10. joshuafagans says:

    Actually made up an Eaton Mess for the first time this weekend. Strawberries with some meringue and in this case some whipped cream as well was a combo I had not yet tried. Very nice indeed.

  11. Eha says:

    No sugar, no meringue, just a voracious attack on those beautiful berries . . . oh, no supermarket ones either, just plant my own and love ’em to bits πŸ™‚ !

  12. Yes, let me take you down ’cause I’m going to Strawberry fields… Tasty and evocative!

  13. I already miss berry season!

  14. Miriam says:

    Yeah, miss the berry season but I’m already making plans for the pumpkin season! πŸ™‚ Can’t wait.

    Lovely blog by the way and pretty pictures.

    Have a nice week! πŸ™‚

  15. A strawberry safe. What a delicious concept.

  16. Mad Dog says:

    I seem to remember them making an excellent flavouring for infusing vodka – a very good garden shed occupation πŸ˜‰

  17. I too am surprised to see good strawberries in the fruit stands this late in the year. Kind of makes up for the shortage of sweet corn. Luscious photos.

  18. Tandy says:

    my two favourites are to either soak them in red wine, or to add some freshly ground black pepper. Last night Dave had a bowl with some liqueur πŸ™‚

  19. in your top photo, a little strawberry heart! love (tasty) strawberries – unfortunately, they are far and few between!

Leave a Reply

