Beans talk

The car was laden with fresh poison for Algy which I had just specially purchased to celebrate his unexpected return. I had been to his favourite shop in La Rochelle where once again the friendly salesman took more of our money  whilst  confidently assuring me that the contents of the large plastic receptacle in my hand contained a good dose of Algy’s Last Goodnight. My gullible hat was clearly on my head and the the bells on one of my legs were ready to ring out should the leg be pulled. Never was there a man more ready to be stiffed by Mother Fortune when, as luck would have it,  what should hove into view but L’Oasis, a fruit and vegetable stall,  awaiting the arrival of simple folk who are keen to exchange their money for very little . In for a penny in for a Euro – so I stopped in order that the salesfolk should not be denied the chance to fleece me. And there at the back of the stall I espied Jacque’s Magic Beans. Well, I couldn’t resist a sack of them at the modest price of a king’s ransom. After I’d been hung upside down and shaken to check their were no loose centimes in my pockets the smiling thieves sent me on my way. Now in the middle of the forest and so nearly home I noticed a poor baker who I knew would love to take any loose change that was in the car, so I dutifully stopped. It was at that point that I realised my wallet, although thoroughly shaken, was missing and with it all the essential documents necessary for drawing breath in this noble republic. At that point Mother Fortune must have lost concentration whilst falling off her throne in a paroxysm of hysterical laughter because it appeared that I had had the good sense to pick up from the counter of L’Oasis a scrap of paper with their phone number, which is odd as I thought that I had left good sense at home, with my camera, for safety. I sprang to the saddle, and Joris, and he …..we galloped back down the dusty road, through the forest, back to the magic bean stall fully expecting to be  met with blank stares when the words “wallet” and “lost” were uttered by the mad eyed loon ( that’s me)  pushing through the throng of melon fanciers that customarily surround this outpost of overcharging. Luckily they had been taking drugs as, on seeing me frothing through the crowd, one of them held up that which was lost like a banner with a strange device and all was well with the world and I still had the magic beans which I have pictured above for you. These are the fabulous coco de Paimpol which are going to make some delicious things. More of this another time.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Art photography, Bad luck, beans, coco de Paimpol, Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, French countryside, Fruit, Good luck, Humour, Luck, melons, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Still life, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Beans talk

  1. spree says:

    An absolutely fantastic post – and the photo of the magic beans – well, I adore it! I always so look forward to what comes our way from Roger. Don’t mean to repeat myself, but again, simply fantastic…

  2. What a day – fleeced, and not of the golden variety but at least you got your wallet back (and hopefully Algy is soon on his way too).

  3. Lucky! What a nightmare! But you did get some wonderful beans 🙂

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Roger spills the beans! Excellent photograph 😉

  5. That was a ripping fairy story, Roger. The hero went through such trials and tribulations, the pace gathered momentum towards the end….I hung on every word .
    Glad you recovered your wallet. And kept your sense of humour in the face of such adversity.

  6. Great story and lovely beans – I do like the dry texture of the pods in this shot especially. Good to hear you found your way back to your wallet and I hope that you will really see the last of Algy this time!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Ah, yes. That instant of panic when one realizes the wallet isn’t merely misplaced but lost. I’m very glad your tale ended so well. Great photo, too, Roger. Even though I’ve come to expect this level of photography when I visit, it’s no less enjoyable to see where you’ve pointed your lens.

  8. A thoroughly entertaining post! You can’t beat the kindness of strangers 🙂 A little faith goes a long way. LOVE the beans shot!

  9. I found this difficult to read because I was laughing so hard! Glad you got the wallet back. Great photo.

  10. Tandy says:

    Somehow in for a penny in for a pound sounds better when changed up here to Euro! Glad you found your wallet. 🙂

  11. Michelle says:

    Those beans are too pretty to eat.

  12. joshuafagans says:

    lol “Jacque’s Magic Beans” love it!

  13. A brilliant post and the image is absolutely terrific

  14. ambrosiana says:

    I have been there and it is something I don’t wish anybody. I am very glad you were so lucky to get it back!

  15. I loved your fairytale this morning.. and so happy you’ve retrieved your magic wallet.. er beans..

Leave a Reply

