In the pudding club?

There’s a limit to how excited a body can be. I know that such a conception would be  anathema to any self respecting PR person but I’m only concerned with humans. Anticipation and imagination will always be keener than the dull edge of the  realisation of  long awaited dreams. We, as a society, having sat so long beneath the pouring tap of visual and aural wizardry are beyond surprise.  We’ve become adept at faking it and can oooh and aaah convincingly to orgasm on demand whilst stimulating ourselves by thinking ahead to the next piece of magic. There is no time to digest, no time to relish because the plate has been whisked away and we’re onto the next fabulous, magical course but hurry up and enjoy it because the next one is leaving the kitchen now. It’s like being water boarded with pleasure.  Not so with this very simple vanilla panna cotta with fresh raspberry sauce which delivers as much as it promises without taking 7 years to make.

Panna Cotta Vanille avec sa confiture framboise

 

Recette de @lacuisinedeDavy

 

40cl creme liquide

½  vanilla pod

50gms caster sugar

2 sheets of gelatine

 

 

Heat the cream and sugar with the seeds that you have removed from the vanilla pod, Bring the mixture slowly to the boil and remove from the heat..

 

Soak the gelatine sheets in cold water for 5 minutes. Drain them and drop them into the hot cream and sugar mixture. Let them dissolve completely.

 

Pour the cream mixture into glasses and chill them in the fridge.

 

Confiture framboise

 

50gms caster sugar

150gms fresh raspberries

 

Put the raspberries and sugar in pan and heat them, making sure to keep the raspberries whole. Remove the whole raspberries with a slotted spoon after about 5 minutes of heating. Reduce the remaining juices. Put the juices with the whole raspberries and chill.

 

To serve: place some juice and raspberries on top of each glass of pannacotta..

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Cream, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Fruit, Panna Cotta, Panna Cotta, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, raspberries. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to In the pudding club?

  1. argone says:

    J’aime beaucoup la panacotta, avec de la framboise éventuellement associée à un peu de rhubarbe … délicieux !

  2. How much better to see life unfold, in a garden or a kitchen, than to have it rush at (and over) you like an oncoming train…Thanks.

  3. Sinclair 3168 says:

    Looks exquisite… I really enjoy your photos, thanks for sharing.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Picture two warrants 7 years contemplation before tasting! Excellent 😉

  5. Tessa says:

    Beautiful photos! And, what I also like about your dish is that it does not take seven years to make :).

  6. ambrosiana says:

    That’s why I love panna cotta! It’ quick and easy to make!

  7. spree says:

    Assuming I can do all the math, this lovely pudd will be on our table some night this week, trying her best to look as beautiful as yours!

  8. Tandy says:

    One word! Yum 🙂

  9. Roger, you always say it exactly how it is: it’s why I come here. I should pour myself a habitual glass of good red and light a cuban cigar for every post.

  10. sounds and looks decadent. I am a huge Panna Cotta fan thanks to my oft-sweet-eating husband. It’s up there as a dessert, especially when topped with raspberry coulis.

  11. Spectacular….dish and images! And yes, I am a card carrying member of the pudding club.

  12. You are amazing. You always remember to clean the glass. I forget. I even forget that I forget, but Katherine reminds me. Beautiful dessert.

  13. I’ve always loved simplicity in desserts.. flavors and recipes! Such a pretty cupful today!!

  14. Delicious. I get giddy when I make coeur à la crème.

  15. Michelle says:

    Can you believe I have never made panna cotta? I can’t. Must remedy that! Such beautiful colors in your photos.

  16. ChgoJohn says:

    Beautifully done, Sir.

  17. joshuafagans says:

    Stunning photo! Looks fantastic.

  18. So simple, so beautiful. Yum!

  19. thomas peck says:

    God I love panne cotta ! My absolute favourite. And you’ve made it look luscious…
    Tom

Leave a Reply

