Algy’s gone and Al Fresco’s arrived….

It’s rush hour. It must be as I can just hear a motor bike in the distance over the deep silence that is the beginning of a summer’s day. This is the summer moment that I wait for throughout the year. It’s just before 7.00 and there is a palpable peace in the air. Days like today are to be enjoyed bite by delicious bite. It’s going to be hot and the stone house is cool. There’s a tray of white peaches which are slowly ripening in the warmth of the sun that comes through the low, south facing window. The fishmonger has filleted a dozen fresh sardines and I’ve prepared fresh breadcrumbs, mixed with flaked almonds and lemon zest, with which to stuff them in addition to some pine nuts and parsley. A softly running Coulommiers cheese, protected by a fly dome, is waiting patiently to give us more pleasure. Al is one of those very rare ย house guests who have the good grace only to pass by on perfect summer days and to leave before one tires of them.ย 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Almonds, BBQ, Cheese, Cooking, Coulommiers, Digital photography, Fish, Flat parsley, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, French countryside, Fruit, Herbs and Spices, lifestyle, Mediterranean food, Nuts, peaches, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Pine Nuts, sardines, seafood, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Algy’s gone and Al Fresco’s arrived….

  1. andylmoore says:

    Perfection! That cheese looks amazing. My right hand is now hovering over a bottle of unopened red wine.

  2. Tandy says:

    I would loved to have joined you for this meal! The cheese looks perfect ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Algy’s gone, the sun came back, and the cheese is ripe…sounds wonderful.
    Love the sardines. We never see them fresh around here.

  4. ambrosiana says:

    Great news Roger and great looking sardines, one of my favorite dishes lately! Try them also with Pecorino, chili and parseley!

  5. I so rarely see white peaches here, just makes me long to be in France in summer where they are plentiful, and good!

  6. Hurrah: the departure of algy. And what a mouth watering picnic ๐Ÿ™‚ Is your course coming up soon?

  7. ceciliag says:

    Absolutely divine and i understand that moment when you can FEEL summer.. it is fleeting that feeling but also it is so direct that you can remember that feeling for a long time.. love the peaches.. c

    • It’s a special moment, and I love to savour it. Savouring flat white peaches is another great moment. The little flat ones taste more peachy than any other peach that I have tasted.

      • ceciliag says:

        We used to have a white flesh peach tree in NZ when i was a kid, they were small too , I swear my Mum would hide them and eat them when we were at school, she loved them! c

  8. Please do not post pictures of cheese like that – it is about to drive me ‘around the bend!’ ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. spree says:

    So glad to hear that Al G. has finally had the decency to move on! And this meal, prepared (Al Fresco-style) sounds and looks like what summer must have been made for. Really perfect!

  10. Mad Dog says:

    Beautiful barbecue and sardines – Biggles did the job ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I had a little chat in the St.John today about red cross buns – they really liked the idea…

  11. a perfect post for the perfect summer’s day. Love this one Roger. You whisked me away for a while there ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. My pregnant friend found out that she cannot indulge in her brie habit for nine months. I’m secretly giddy at this as I love brie and have no problems not sharing.

  13. Oh, fresh sardines. Love that shot!

  14. White peaches.. Coulommiers cheese, and a “basket” of fish.. perfection!

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    During my visit home, Zia and I spoke of the variety of fish that were once available but no longer. Coincidentally, fresh sardines were mentioned and I bet your photos of same will bring back memories for her, just as they did for me. And I’d also bet that, once cooked, they may not have been photogenic but they were most certainly delicious!

Leave a Reply

