Give peas a chance..

When all is said and done, which moment has certainly never occurred in this household or in my memory of saying and doing things. I dread reaching the point where “all is said”, and with the rate of attrition of things breaking or stopping working all about me there is little or no chance of attaining the Nirvana of “all is done”. I mention this after several hours of crawling around under a trestle table collecting stray peas that had incontrovertibly proved that the surface on which I was shooting my still life was not level whilst simultaneously confirming Newton’s law of universal gravitation. Several of the more creative strays had proved that they could produce random green patterns on a white rug very efficiently if they stayed quietly and purposefully hidden in the recesses of the soles of my shoes. I found that rage was ineffectual on a pea, so I gave peas a chance. I cooked them. I cooked them slowly in butter, a tablespoon of sugared water and a handful of big soft lettuce leaves. Sadly they were a disappointment and I’m coming to the conclusion that the admen aren’t lying and that the frozen pea companies do take the best. I have to say that I have a weakness for bottled petit pois. That being the case, here’s a picture of the strawberries, meringue and cream that I ate to appease my disappointment in what should have been sweet peas. RIP (really indifferent peas)

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Cream, Digital photography, Eton Mess, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Fresh peas, Fruit, Pea Pods, Peas, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, strawberries, Strawberries and cream, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Give peas a chance..

  1. That looks great! I would have liked the peas also 🙂

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious I scream!
    I prefer fresh to frozen, in fact i never buy frozen, but when in season, I buy fresh ones every week.

  3. I did have “that” famous company of frozen pea fame as a client once and I have to say…I think they do really get the best ones! Oh well, at least you got that amazing shot the other day and then a fabulous looking strawberries, cream and meringue to peasífy you. Peas man!

  4. spree says:

    Have I ever left here without a smile? Maybe. But if I ever have, I can’t for the life of me remember When. Thank you Roger always for the contributions you make – may they be your lovely photographs or merely your wry, unfailing wit. You really Are good!

  5. I eat my peas with honey
    I’ve done it all my life
    It makes them taste quite funny
    But it keeps them on the knife.

    Would honey spoil the look of the composition, Roger?

  6. Hehehehe. Love the picture.

  7. Michelle says:

    And what a fine looking meringue it is! (I actually love fresh peas, but they do become starchy almost immediately.)

  8. Truer words have never been committed to paper: I found that rage was ineffectual on a pea.

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    Well, if anything could bring a halt to a person’s pondering of pottering peas, it would be that delicious-looking dish of berries and cream, topped with a bit of meringue. Friends have been asking when I intend to break out the ice cream machine this Summer. Your photo has convinced me that it is time.

  10. The dessert is a worthy consolation prize.

  11. That looks divine! Roger, do you have a good recipe for pavlova? We had a rosewater pavlova, with passionfruit curd, red pepper grains (strangely good), cream, and kiwi, and it rivals many a pavlova I have tried. The ‘look’ of this restaurant dessert was so similar to the beauty of yours above. Let me know!

  12. ambrosiana says:

    I guess those companies have adquired patents to grow peas!! You are right, the best peas I have ever had are frozen!! In case you did not know it, peas and strawberries together make a great risotto though!

  13. Reading your compelling posts it’s always an amusement!

  14. Tandy says:

    love the title of this post! Sadly, the best peas are usually the frozen ones but as they are also good for you, I don’t mind buying them 🙂

  15. The peas I grew this year were awful, even straight from the garden…that variety won’t be invited back to next year’s party.
    Still a few strawberries, though none so lovely as your Consolation Prize up there. 😀

  16. Oh, I’d take that divine dessert over peas anytime! Have to confess I like canned peas. No one else will confess to this, but someone’s buying all those cans. 🙂

  17. We had some wonderful peas.. purchased at a market and eaten raw.. in the shell. I find the straight-jacket does a good job keeping them in line.

Leave a Reply

