The Goat of many colours that my mama gave to me…

I have just noticed that Tennessee produces some fine goat cheeses which leads me to surmise that it was Dolly’s original intention to sing her about her goat rather than the unfortunate fashion choice of her mother which resulted in young Dolly sporting a coat of coloured rags thus having the piss mercilessly taken out of her by her white trash peers. Come to think of it, she might have had as much trouble being the owner of a multicoloured goat as Tennessee, in the 50’s, was no stranger to colour prejudice – white coat or white goat would have been the safe options but her mother threw Dolly in at the deep end. Dolly aside, this little goat cheese is from Provence and is called Roves des Garrigues. La Garrigue is the scrub land in the Midi where the goats, from whose milk this cheese is created, graze and which is filled with thyme, lavender and rosemary, the aromas of which give the cheese a natural, perfumed taste. Eaten with good bread and a glass of wine, this is amongst the best of simple foods. Grilled red peppers, preserved in oil, go very well with this cheese as does olive oil and a sprinkling of fresh thyme leaves.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in bread, Cheese, Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Garrigue, goat cheese, Herbs and Spices, Lavender, Le Midi, Mediterranean food, Olive oil, peppers, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Provence, Rosemary, Thyme, Wine, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to The Goat of many colours that my mama gave to me…

  1. Very clever post Roger! And a stunning shot which is now sending me in the direction of my fridger…

  2. I could have that for breakfast…
    Dolly’s one of my heroes. Living proof that it’s possible to be a shrewd businesswoman and still be a good soul. Very funny lady, too…

  3. that second image has we wishing for cheese, olive oil, crusty bread and some good wine. “thyme, lavender and rosemary” – would love to taste this cheese. Just so delicious looking, all of it!

  4. ambrosiana says:

    Now that is delicious. I love goat cheese with red peppers..and thyme adds that special flavor!!

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Thats a delicious description of the cheese, but I do hope Ms Parton (as much as I like her) doesn’t see the potential in La Garrigue and set up a Dollywood there 😉

  6. ceciliag says:

    Ah, should I be grazing Daisy in my herb garden? c

  7. Tasty looking, indeed! Your photo has me wanting to go on a shopping splurge at the farmers market downstairs.

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    If I had access to a quarter of the cheese that you do, I’d never make another curd again. A clever post, Roger, and that closing photo superb.

  9. Have to try that cheese! Beautiful picture! You listen to Dolly Parton? Quel surprise!

  10. You’re right – this is one of the best ways to eat cheese. We’re lucky here to get cheese made a fez kilometres away from the milk of goats that have spent all day roaming and grazing in the garrigue, like the ones in Provence, and there’s no flavour like it. Lovely shot of the thyme leaves in the oil too.

  11. That last photo is beautiful and your post made me laugh. I know a Dolly fan or two….

  12. Tandy says:

    I am now longing for France!

  13. Very tasty and delicious post! Now it’s time for lunch…

  14. Spree says:

    You’re such a clever chap Roger! 🙂 and that herby-perfumed goat cheese, drizzled in olive oil nestled up to roasted peppers is like plated perfection. With crusty bread I can’t imagine a lunch I’d rather have in summer (followed of course by a slice of lemon tart!) You sure do know how to eat! 🙂

    • If only today felt like summer. There is so much rain that I feel like Hawkeye hiding behind the cascading waterfall in the “Last of the Mohicans”. Tomorrow is Bastille Day and tonight the sky should be filled with millions of fireworks. Talk about a damp squib:)

  15. As so often, here is my tummy rumbling once more. You do the photography bit of Food, Photography and France so very well. I adore goats cheese: and shall be having a go at the pepper, thyme and goats cheese combo.

Leave a Reply

