I’m so excited, and I just can’t hide it….

That’s not really true. I’m not excited at all, so there is no question of my hiding it. Excitement would be exciting if it hadn’t been devalued by the legion of radio and TV commentators who are so excited for a living. Very little doesn’t excite them because not being so excited could well cost them their exciting job. Etched into my memory is a moment in the recent sodden Jubilee celebrations. On a pleasure boat on the Thames, with so much rain falling that the difference between being in the river or out of it was minimal, a renowned chef was balefully cutting slices of sodden cake in the biblical downpour whilst a seemingly hysterical commentator, hair plastered to her head and as wild eyed as any Bronte heroine, madly and repeatedly demanded to know precisely how excited the forlorn cake cutter was because wasn’t it all so exciting and she herself was about to lose control and she thought she’d like that. As song writers have mentioned before, cake left out in the rain is not a good idea and these images confirmed the song writer knew what he or she was talking about when it came to wet cake. Outside, the summer rain that had recently extinguished blazing June continued to do the business on July, whilst on the inside cake came to mind. Claire Ptak, former pastry chef for Alice Waters at Chez Panisse, now runs the celebrated “Violet” cake shop in London’s East End. She makes the most wonderful cakes. I was excited by the experience of making, photographing and eating these lemon bars. 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Baking, cake, Claire Ptak, Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, lemon bars, lemon bars, lemons, photography course, Photography holiday, Recipes, summer, Uncategorized, Violet Cakes, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to I’m so excited, and I just can’t hide it….

  1. It had to have been Floyd in the pouring rain…that was the sort of thing he did! Lovely shot of a lovely sounding cake Roger.

  2. ceciliag says:

    I have a terrible problem with that song, it is one of my inner soundtrack songs, you know the ones .. the ones that take WEEKS to go quiet in your head. Your foot taps to it as you cringe. I HAD gotton rid of it, It had replaced itself with The Car Wash song.. (shudder) so I am not going to thank you for reintroducing it to my brain again! I don’t think I like it! c

  3. Mad Dog says:

    There’s so much insincerity that I find it hard to watch documentaries and factual programmes at all. Even a lot of Radio 4 is completely insipid these days. Hooray for some genuine chefs – it might be a good idea if they stayed off TV 😉
    Great picture and very nice wood!

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Who put you up to this? Tell me!
    For the past 6 years, I’ve sent out a musical selection every Monday to a group of friends, Music Monday. I consider it a success if that song happens to be an “ear worm” that stays with my recipients the entire day, if not more. I come here and, lo and behold, I get 2 such songs thrown my way. Worse yet, if I close my eyes, I see the Pointer Sisters driving a car through a car wash. How ever will I be able to perform my Music Monday duites today with these 2 songs competing for my attention?

  5. I made lemon bars a few weeks ago and my friends went absolutely crazy!! I bet these bars made you excited!! xo Smidge
    ps.. you’ll be sad to know “said song” brought back vivid neon hue memories of aerobic dancing for me…

  6. Well, here is my pick for a musical ‘ear worm:’
    http://dai.ly/c9DzTy
    By the way, what are you having with those lemon bars? Coffee or tea???

  7. Roger, you? Aerobic dancing? Did you wear leg warmers?

    The lemon bars look great, but I shall be playing either Mozart or Portishead very very loud as I make them, to drown out the earworm.

  8. Our lemon bars are so decadent we hardly make them. These look just as great. Such a great dessert. As for the song, well… it’s a classic in a different way.

  9. Hmm…I’d be excited about eating the bars but definitely not at the thought of doing anything in a downpour to get them. Great Pointer Sisters song!

  10. ambrosiana says:

    I am very sad you still get rain in the Vendée. Here in Rome we are literally melting!!! By the way, whoever worked for Alice Waters must be a superb cook or chef!!! She is one of my favorite chefs! I went to Chez Panise while I was in Berkeley and it was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had! I bet those cakes must taste like heaven!!!

  11. Pingback: BlogWorld ~ musings from Brooklyn | Marina Chetner

  12. spree says:

    what a lovely photograph of a favorite dessert! (such a sucker for the pucker!) You’ve really set a mood here and I’m in no hurry to leave it.

  13. Oh, I love lemon bars. For some reason, my mother only made them at Christmastime. Seems strange to me now.
    Hoping the earworm doesn’t take hold. . . .:)

Leave a Reply

