Something to get my teeth into…..

When the weather’s warm and the world is ripe I say goodbye to the social graces, although many will say that my farewell is not entirely seasonal nor recent. Social disgraces continue, however, as I stand in line in a supermarket surrounded by chariots of dire. Impossible not to look and wonder at the simian selective process that allowed someone to filter out the acres of fresh produce whilst piling high the wheeled wire basket with awfulness. I have to say that endless sport, the Jubilee and the Olympics have put me in such a foul mood that I have ceased to find excuses for anyone but myself. Funnily enough, whilst driving to the supermarket, I passed through a tiny village that was filled to bursting with hundreds of people who had come to say good bye to a someone they all new who had just died. The mourners  were dressed for summer, not for sadness and driving past this calm crowd cheered me up no end. On the way back from the shopping I passed through the same village that had seamlessly returned to the traditional emptiness that is the hallmark of a truly French community. There was no sign that an interment had taken place. No weary grave diggers leaning on their shovels, no weeping mourners. It was past midday and they were all at lunch.

 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cheese, Digital photography, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, French countryside, photography course, Photography holiday, Uncategorized, Vendee, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Something to get my teeth into…..

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Lunch is a good place to be at 😉

  2. Very nice shot Roger!

  3. Don’t do this to me before lunch!!! 🙂

  4. spree says:

    Roger so excellently written (!) and deliciously bitten! beautiful…

  5. Life, and lunch, must go on!

  6. Oh, that cheese! And, that slice of tomato! Yes, that’s the perfect way to wash away the irritations of people around you.

  7. I was laughing (and crying) at this post! You’ve got great style and wit 🙂 And that photo depicts one of the best meals ever. The tomatoes look so enticing (unlike something I would find in a supermarket down the street).

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    See? If I could get cheese like that around here, I’d never make another curd in my life.

  9. Mmmmmm…..The Perfect Lunch.
    Photogenic, too.

  10. That’s how I’d like to go. No black horses with feathers on their heads and top hats for me, please.
    Chariots of Dire. I just totally love it.

  11. discovervin says:

    Love the fact that everyone was at lunch! So French!!
    Hope you are not too “over” sport. Its tour time!! Allez Cadel

  12. Michelle says:

    Chariots of Dire! I am going to have to remember that one. God knows I see it every time I’m forced to go into some of our grocery stores.

  13. ambrosiana says:

    Beautiful!!! Give me tomatoes and cheese and all my blues will go away!!!

  14. Beautiful photo as always.. I’d care to snack on a little one of these today, mine just wouldn’t have the same freshness of ingredients I don’t think. I hope you cheer up soon!!

  15. Landon Abraham says:

    Wire baskets are great since they are lightweight and porous.:

    <a href="My own, personal internet page
    http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/track-jacket-outwear/

Leave a Reply

