Riding along in my automobile…..

With no particular place to go would not be completely truthful, but in between the particular places to which I had to go there were the opportunities to take pictures. The landscapes in the South Vendee never cease to amaze me with their lack of traditional spectactularity. They are like a plain looking woman who looks breathtaking in pictures. I think the more pastoral landscapes could only be rendered in paint if justice were to be done to them. I baked what appears to be a wonderful prune and bitter chocolate cake last night, from a recipe by David Leibovitz – an American in Paris. It looks too difficult to photograph which is why I have published these landscapes of the industrial face of the Vendee.

 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in baking, cake, Chocolate, Cooking, David Liebovitz, Digital photography, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Landscapes, Landscapes, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Riding along in my automobile…..

  1. Oh brilliant shots, Rog !! Love them!

  2. peasepudding says:

    The sky looks lie it has been painted or someone has stuck cotton wool balls up there!

  3. So THAT’S what it looks like when you’re not speeding through on the train! πŸ˜‰
    Love those clouds…

  4. Something too difficult for you to photograph? Ah, well. The photos you subbed do calm me.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    The beautiful scenery you’ve captured is the reason why I take the backroads and byways when I’m running errands while in Michigan. I really enjoy views — and photos — like this.

  6. Lovely landscape shots – you get such a huge sky with the flat wheat fields. The cake sounds good too.

  7. That first one should be a postcard!

  8. Michelle says:

    There is, as you say above, a real American feel to these shots. Have you seen Terrence Malick’s old film, Days of Heaven? I think it may actually have been filmed in Canada, but was supposed to look like Texas. These photos remind me of that. Beautiful!

  9. hotlyspiced says:

    What beautiful images. They are so scenic. Gorgeous!

  10. discovervin says:

    Great landscape shots. Spectacular shots even though you think its not a spectacular landscape. Would like to see the prune and chocolate tart.

  11. ambrosiana says:

    Beautiful!!! It brings me back memories of the photography course I took with you last year!! And those cloudy skies remind me when you used to say that landscape pictures are better with cloudy skies rather than clear skies!!

  12. The skyscapes are pretty wonderful too, Roger! Love these, and your ‘plain woman’ description,

  13. When in doubt take photos of something entirely different! I find the industrial farming in France is rather grim and frightening, but the colours in your photos are so rich it certainly makes up for it

  14. spree says:

    My brother-in-law is a wonderful artist… Hard for me to look at the top photo and not imagine it in oils Very lovely Roger. (and so glad we got to see that rich bittersweet chocolate prune cake after all!)

Leave a Reply

