The tomatoes are very nice, sir, if you like them…..

Frazzled brains and frazzled eggs. I dimly remember this advice being offered to me by the genial proprietor of the “greasy spoon”, in deepest Covent Garden, circa 1980, as I stared blankly through eyes weakened by drink and drugs at the chalkboard offering different pairings of very fried things. Thumbscrews are very nice, if you like them, according to the followers of Baroness Masoch as are fish lips and ducks’ feet to the mangetout Chinese. The point is that I was beyond advice. Time has passed and I no longer journey to the land beyond advice. When my visa ran out they handed me back my palate and brain, making menu selection and driving much, much easier. I have no remembrance of what I selected that morning but I hope it was as good as this simple dish of grilled bread, butter fried tomatoes and crisp prosciutto.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Prosciutto, Toast, tomatoes, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to The tomatoes are very nice, sir, if you like them…..

  1. A great breakfast there Roger, those tomatoes look wonderful nestled in the crisp proscuitto.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. I found a recipe last summer for melon gazpacho with “frizzled” prosciutto…
    Sounds more like a hairdo than a nervous condition (frazzled), but take your pick 😉

  3. That looks wonderful. Those are some great looking tomatoes. And my eyes are clear!

  4. Fantastic toast! is like a “pan tumaca”…at least it has almost the same ingredients 🙂

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    This would be my perfect breakfast. SImple and flavorful. In fact, with our temps nearing record levels, I think that will be my mantra for all meals over the next few days. It was “I couldn’t be bothered” but “Simple and flavorful” will probably irk fewer people.

  6. Mad Dog says:

    That definitely sounds like a night at the Zanzibar and like the breakfast was a life saver 😉

  7. spree says:

    Thumbscrews are very nice if you like them! Your wry does get me every time Roger! 🙂 and your breakfast would too!

  8. ambrosiana says:

    So full of wisdom Roger. Yesterday, we celebrated yhe Italian football team win with a simple pasta al pomodoro (using Martelli Spaghetti!!), and my mother in law was telling me that nothing beats a hearty, simple pasta dish such as this one…and I have to agree with her!!!

  9. What a quote! Nothing like a little condescending humour. A cracking breakfast… at least, it would be if it had eggs… hmm.

  10. Roger, looks like your barricades, which separate you from the land beyond advice, serve you very nicely. It is good to look at life through your eyes of an evening. And if I hadn’t had spaghetti and meatballs my tummy would be rumbling at the sight of that gorgeous bread, prosciutto and tomatoes.

  11. As my friends say, “That is amazing 3 A.M. food!” Oh, if only “drunk” food here were as tasty.

  12. simple is often the best – especially in food, i think.. give me that breakfast sans to drink and drugs…!

  13. Our offerings in the wee hours of the morning are usually served up by waitresses in uniform at Denny’s.. nothing quite so chic for us, I’m afraid.. but this is one recipe I could make for myself.. and will:)

  14. I am sure if world leaders at war all sat down together for a decent breakfast, so many of the world´s problems and conflicts could be avoided!

  15. Roger, your photos really are amazing. I hope I can come on one of your courses next year to learn something.

  16. Great shot, made me hungry! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

