Dazed and confused

Like Captain Oates “…I may be some time”. Because it seemed so easy, I thought I’d open a site on WordPress.org. It’s not easy at all, in fact it’s an absolute nightmare. Owing to the current complications of building this site, there is only a header page for the Roger Stowell Photography site. I hope normal service will be resumed as soon as possible. Maybe before the end of the rainy season.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Dazed and confused

  1. I’ve been thinking about making this change too….maybe not….
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. kouka27 says:

    No,It’s not easy at all! That’s why I have it done by a webmaster;)

  3. Oh dear…I will sit back and wait to learn from you I think!

  4. Well Roger – it will stimulate the ‘gray cells’ – so something good will come of it. A couple of years ago I saw a book at Borders on how to work with WordPress and i became convinced that it was a great system but a bit more than I wanted to get into. I have enough trouble building and maintaining my web site with Dreamweaver.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    Good luck to you, Roger. Long after everyone has migrated to Dot Org, I’ll be here holding vigil just in case someone decides to come back.

  6. It all sounds too complicated for me. Good luck! I hope the advantages are worth the hard work.

  7. andylmoore says:

    I was thinking of moving over, but don’t think I’ll try. Sounds like a bridge too far for me. This post and some of your responses did make me laugh though!

  8. Uh-oh. Bloggers are moving? Maybe because I’m content not owning my own WordPress site…

  9. Its a mucky business, and one I’ve tinkered with a couple of times, but have yet to conquer!

  10. Mad Dog says:

    It’s a steep learning curve – the hardest bit is migrating your subscribers.
    Good luck, the end result is more control and better visuals šŸ˜‰

  11. Good luck with all the fine tuning, Roger. Will look forward to your resuming normal service…it’s great entertainment šŸ™‚

  12. Roz says:

    Dear Roger found you via Cecilia’s comments – I was checking there to see if she posted an answer to my query. It was serendipitous that I should click through to your site and discover that not only do you live in a country we visit annually but that your new book’s photography on fish warms me in all the right places since we made 4 month of the year sea change to Tasmania to a little fishing town on the north east coast. I am in the midst of writing a memoir on my fishing and seafood cooking experiences. I will be subscribing to your blog and downloading your book app today. Roz

  13. Poor you.. though i am not entirely sure what you are doing.. as usual.. now i have to rush back and see if i amswered Roz’ query. i think I did! c

  14. Oh no, I was thinking of doing the same thing. Thanks for the heads-up. Best of luck to you. . . .

Leave a Reply

