Norman is an island…

Norman is an island and no wonder. It’s a wise choice when you consider that all those bells  are apparently tolling for him and not for you. Bells did not bode well for Charles Laughton or for St.Clement and for the rest of us they normally signify invasion or interment. Becoming an island is a sound solution when too much celebration is foisted upon us, too much demand to have a jolly good time, when the veneer of sincerity is curling up at the corner and the dullness of that which lies beneath is becoming more evident. I can understand choosing a bit of lonely cloud wandering when the option is a surfeit of bunting, banter and barbecues. Norman and I have the same insular reaction to after dinner phrases such as “Let’s play a game!” and “Oh come on, it’d be fun”. It won’t be fun, it will be bloody awful because when “fun” is organised it loses the one property that puts the fun in fun, and that property is spontaneity. The enduring image of the Queen wearing earplugs during the concert in her honour is a good illustration of “fun”. Which insane organiser of “fun” guessed that she would love to spend an evening with Cheryl Cole & Co? Oddly enough there is a spark of fun in that conception, but it’s the sort of “fun” that Torquemada might have dreamt up. The term “bilious” is defined as testy, chippy, grouchy and splenetic which would be an ideal name for a tribute band, particularly if I was a member. I mention this as it seems that I must be suffering from that superannuated complaint, a bilious attack, brought on by fear of jubilation. The pretty flowers at the top of this post are by way of a tranquilliser.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Norman is an island…

  1. I love the word ‘splenetic’…have to use it on my Domestic Curmudgeon tonight when the ‘news’ is on….
    (I’d say, “Cheer up!” but I know the type of reaction that would get…. 😉 )

  2. Ha! This is why I usually like to view such spectacles far away or at home where I can stop watching if I want.

  3. I had to smile too at the Queen with her earplugs…poor woman having to endure that Cheryl thingy woman. Anyway, must sign off, time waits for Norman. Sorry, couldn´t resist!

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    I didn’t see much of the celebration but I did catch a moment when her ear plugs were mentioned. The whole thing seemed so awkward and I almost felt sorry for her. Almost.

    Great picture of the wildflowers, Roger. So vibrant.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    You must be talking about Norman from the Coach and Horses 😉
    I can’t say I blame Queenie with regard to earplugs – that hearing has to last another 25 years at least! The music was dreadful, but most people had a good time in spite of it.

  6. hehe, nice! I can see what you mean 🙂

  7. Definitely a tranquil shot – are they poppies in there? My favourite line that had me laughing at the computer: “It won’t be fun, it will be bloody awful because when “fun” is organised it loses the one property that puts the fun in fun, and that property is spontaneity.” You’re masterful with words.

  8. ceciliag says:

    i thought bilious meant that you felt like vomiting! clevcer fellow you are.. Now. how about a game of charades, it will be fun ! You’ll LOVE it! (sound effects of bare feet running, opening door- squeak, slamming door-bang, silence, giggle from the garden!) c

    • My God, you must be feeling bilious after your milking parlour adventures. I should mention that the All Black scrum half just did a TV commercial in NZ about the healthiness of a smoking free house and car. He was filmed bottle feeding his 6 month old daughter, Taylor, which so enraged the NZ breast feed association that they had to pull the commercial. Watch that finger in the calf’s mouth and all the bottle feeding all they’ll be round your way:)

  9. Earplugs 😀 I must admit, I did wonder why in God’s name they were making her sit through all that noise…very good humoured she was, though, I must say.

    I look at those flowers and feel instantly tranquil. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

