Woke up, got out of bed…..

This morning, deliciously drugged from a deep dream filled sleep, I remained lying on the bed in the near narcoleptic state that is the magical moment that I am so loathe to let go before consciousness reintroduces me to today’s world. Minute, but mad, details of dreams were still clear, and seemingly sensible in my cocoon of semi consciousness, but then I was awake and the fragments of dreams performed their butterfly trick of floating away to specks in the distance and then to nothing. Coffee kicks in and reality makes itself known. There’s a hiatus when I think that I might have gone back to sleep as it appears that there’s soft, diffused sunlight streaming through the windows. Could this mean that everlasting winter has come to an end? No time for wild speculation so the first job is to cut more wood for the fire. Just because it’s nearly the first day of “flaming June” there’s no reason to believe that it won’t be bloody freezing tonight. Stone houses need the heat of the sun, continual sun, to separate them from a cave dwelling. The weather man at Google has drawn pictures of the sun for the next few days which may only mean that the Google artist of the day is hopeless at drawing clouds and rain but I’m keeping the faith. I cooked a lemon tart to confirm the Google artist’s forecast of fine weather

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking, desserts, Digital photography, fireplace, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Google, Lemon tart, lifestyle, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Still life, summer, swimming pool, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Woke up, got out of bed…..

  1. Really like the picture of the tractor shed.

  2. peasepudding says:

    I’m always jealousy when I see pics from your house, my dream is to live 6 months NZ then 6 months France, that way I could have the romance of the stone house but not winter chill!

  3. I always make a futile attempt at falling back asleep to continue the dream. It always fails. But, I keep trying!

  4. Poor swiming pool…no one can come out to play, yet.
    Yummy tart, I hope?

  5. Enjoyed the reference to stone houses and cave dwellers – we’ve finally had some warmth too, and outside it’s been scorchio but step back into our stone/cobbled hovel and it’s lovely and cool.

  6. Tandy says:

    Great confirmation that!

  7. I think that sun his here to stay…am feeling hopeful. I expect the pool is still chilly though 😉

  8. Mad Dog says:

    No more drinking in the bar for you – it’s time for a pool party – or around the pool party 😉

  9. ceciliag says:

    I always love a good tart! Well someone had to say it! Once again I am in full agreement with Mad, he is going to perch me on the handlebars of his bike and we are coming for a pool party! Though I do not like cold water, which is weird coming from a girl who grew up on a beach, however I am very partial to a good tart! and i can always prop up the bar across the fence for you.. c

  10. So well written and lovely photos! Love the shallow depth of field in the photo (sorry, can’t help myself with the lingo!) Simply beautiful! I understand the refuge of a brick home in summertime. My parents own a home in Sydney – french provincial style down to the painted patterned designs on the kitchen windows – and in the scorching Aussie summer, entering home was better than having an ice cream 😉 A dip in a pool, if we had one, would have been nice though.

  11. “I remained lying on the bed in the near narcoleptic state…” Right now I sure envy you for that. We are about to move, and my wakings are filled with anxiety….Hang on to that treasure. From the shed to the tart to the writing, fabulous! With best wishes -c-

  12. Michelle says:

    Alas, well, you’re awfully close to the homes of all those cave dwellers, ancient and otherwise. I love the photo of the shed. Oh, yes, and the interior shot too. Hope the sun holds.

  13. angela says:

    ….dragged a comb across my head 😉 Stay warm ~

  14. Great Philosopher! … never stop to cut wood for the fire…

  15. A lemon tart, What a capital way to celebrate the arrival of summer, Roger. And that pool looks wonderful..

  16. Rachel says:

    I’d get up and maybe even sing for that tart… mmmmmm!! And oh for a cold house… ahhhh!

  17. Oh, what gorgeous surroundings. I would gladly trade the heat and humidity that has beset us on the East Coast. 🙂

  18. ChgoJohn says:

    Summer arrived here over the weekend: blazing sun & high temps — and it left just as quickly yesterday. Today was chilly and I’ve a feeling tonight will be downright cold. I wouldn’t mind it so much, if only I had a tart.

Leave a Reply

