The Great Flood

I’m reaching the point where commenting on blogs that I enjoy following is getting very annoying. Forget to “untick” the tiny box under the comments box and your email will be flooded with the world and his sister’s ” follow up” comments. It seems to me that you should have to “tick” the box if you WANT to see “follow” up comments, the very reverse of WordPress’s current system. I WISH I COULD MAKE WORDPRESS TAKE NOTICE OF THIS.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Great Flood

  1. argone says:

    I totally agree !

  2. I so agree Roger. I wrote to them several times to complain and kept getting this sort of reply

    Our aim is to increase comment engagement and foster more discussions between commenters. We will still give the commenter the opportunity to disable the notifications by unchecking the option in the comment field, or unsubscribing via https://subscribe.wordpress.com/

    Thank you.

    Karim – Happiness Engineer Automattic | WordPress.com

    Ridiculous eh?!

  3. Michelle says:

    I believe they’ve finally fixed this so you can opt out. Go to the Reader tab. Under the search box bottom left is a link to “manage email delivery settings.” In there you can uncheck the “follow comments” box. It won’t help for all those old ones filling up your inbox, but it takes it back to the old way of default. Now why they didn’t say anything about this, I don’t know… I just happened upon it.

  4. I know! It’s so annoying. I must remember to untick the box before I post this.

  5. I use a different non-wordpress email at justasmidgen@hotmail.ca for my wordpress emails so my regular email doesn’t receive these. So, although I’ve done the global thing.. it won’t help me with this hotmail account. I did search and there is a way to remove the “Notify me” box under the comment section. I know some people like to have this option. I was thinking of removing it anyway.. since we can read people’s responses via clicking the “number” box in the upper right hand corner. What are your thought??

  6. Well.. I’ve removed the tick-box, it’s under Settings Discussion then scroll down to Follow Comments and I unclicked show follow comments. We’ll see if anyone complains I guess.. thanks for showing me how to do the global unfollow comments, I’ve done it now!

  7. Tandy says:

    I went into my global settings and unclicked the box, and when I went back today some gremlin had checked it again! Drives me scatty as my phone keeps telling me “you’ve got mail”. Maybe we all need to get a banner in protest for our blogs?

  8. Well, quite! I think it’s a conspiracy, Roger. I’d love to know what WordPress have to gain by these e mails flying around. They seem in no hurry to change. I’d love someone to get to the bottom of it.

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    I hear you, Roger. I posted last week that you could go to the Support pages like others have mentioned. I just keep that window open and when I’m done replying to posts I refresh the page. Any of the posts I neglected to uncheck will appear and I unsubscribe to any/all of them. Ridiculous? Yes, but I’m no longer flooded.

  10. angela says:

    I changed settings a while back so that I “followed” blogs in the reader, but didn’t allow emails…it was too unnerving to get these updates at all hours, even with a blogger email account. Thankfully, whatever I did eliminated the follow ups as well. knock.on.keyboard. ~

  11. You are totally right, I think is such a dumb thing from wordpress…

  12. I’m almost to the point where I’m switching host sites.

Leave a Reply

