A table for one, please,,,,,,

Summer light happened this morning which was a nice change. Grey light looks wonderful in pictures but, as in holding up to the clear sunlight what one remembered as a white tee shirt, the soul can be insidiously dulled by too much greydom. A morning such as this fills me with optimism even though habit keeps me looking over a metaphorical shoulder for the dark cloud on the horizon. My pictures change as summer light arrives as, contrary to appearances, dark, moody pictures are best created with plenty of light. The slightly “over the top” still life at the top of the page was shot in bright sunlight which you can see in the small insert on the right. The difficulty in shooting and writing for oneself is that one becomes the sole judge of good and bad, but then again I only have to argue with myself and I’ve found that I’m a very reasonable person when it comes to criticism – as long as nothing bad is said. We have our first clients of the year arriving tomorrow so I will have a few days respite from self flagellation and get on with the fun criticising other people’s pictures. Today will be filled with cooking and picture taking in preparation for the good dinners that we’ll share at the end of each day. As I was setting off to do the final shopping I noticed on a book shelf a pad of shopping lists that I had bought from the Design Museum in London many years ago. Rather like grey light, they look wonderful, but they don’t bear comparison with a sheet of white paper or, indeed, the back of an envelope. The graphics seem to be telling a rather sad story of a singularly lonely person, who may well have been eating at the table above, on a rather strict diet who will never have the need to fill in the “Others” heading. 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Still life, summer, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A table for one, please,,,,,,

  1. Great shopping list. I really like the pictures, especially the table with the stool. I’m also vaguely jealous of your guests 🙂

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    I do enjoy your still lifes, Roger, even the ones you think are “over the top.” 🙂

  3. Meat, cheese, bread, and wine. Perfect.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    That reminds me of the haggis ceremony!
    For a second I though the shopping list was your student project list and that they’d have to reinterpret the following… 😉

  5. Loved these shots. Don´t know why, but I´m thinking Sweeney Todd right now…must be the knife!

  6. “I only have to argue with myself and I’ve found that I’m a very reasonable person when it comes to criticism – as long as nothing bad is said..” Roger, this tickled my sense of humour. You said it so well 😀

  7. Michelle says:

    I second Kate. I read the post this morning and have smiled about that line all day!

  8. That shot is both ominous and inviting. I’d risk the knife to get to that bread!

  9. I always like your photos so can say nothing bad here. that said, you write, “I’ve found that I’m a very reasonable person when it comes to criticism – as long as nothing bad is said.” Well, please feel free to critique my photos – I need the criticism! You know where to find my blog 😉 Enjoy hosting your clients.

  10. There are few things in my world more enticing than a blank, white page, or an empty bit of ground…
    Enjoy your students. Hope to be one, sometime…

  11. ceciliag says:

    Light is everything isn’t it. i know that is such an obvious observation, but many people forget to first check the light and make decisions from there.. Oh and the back of an envelope is mandatory, preferably an unopened bank statement, these make for the best list surfaces! have fun, eat heaps and i look forward to one two sneaky shots of your work! celi

  12. It is with eager anticipation that open new emails from you, Roger. Your sense of humor, intelligent writing, cool perspective and very neat photography staging is a delight! Please tell me how you do those shadow/mood photos.. I think I’ve done the same with early morning light, but I’m curious if I’ve missed some technique that you use. xo Smidge

Leave a Reply

