It’s the real thing….

A soft, misty morning is irresistible to the hunter. That most elusive of prey, the good picture, is sure to be out there somewhere. Being a master of disguise, this highly prized rarity is often cleverly disguised in a cloak of dullness from beneath which it sneers, unseen, at the big picture hunter who is standing before it yet seeing nothing. To ensure that the hunt is a cruel, unfair contest the good picture has an ephemeral ally known only as “light”. I remember when I was an assistant to a celebrated photographer, , some 40 years ago, that he would point out the quality of light to me ad infinitum and I equally remember not having a clue what he meant. It seems to take a lifetime before the mental cataracts are lifted, ironically just in time for the physical ones to begin to take their place. Pictures, like sudden emotions, are passing and irrecoverable but nor irreplaceable. As with emotions they appear unbidden and one is ready for them, or not. There is also the problem of not knowing, at least until a later point or maybe never, as to whether they were the real thing, whatever that may be. 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, France, French countryside, harmony, Landscapes, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to It’s the real thing….

  1. I have never thought about this before and ypu’re absolutely right. The picture might be sitting there are we might not recognize it. Hearing it from someone who knows his onions it makes me all the more determined to click now, ask questions later….lovely, lovely landscapes….

  2. I never ‘got’ the light thing, having spent the first 30 years of my life in the harsh, flat glare of the Southern US. Then I moved North, and finally understood what all those painters and photographers were talking about…
    (Capturing it is still a crapshoot, but at least with digital, I won’t go broke practicing!)

  3. Roger, incredible shots as ever (I especially love that last one) but my oh my..you do have a way with words too!

  4. A topic that is too close for comfort – the Alps have been shrouded in mist and cloud and snow for the last week, so few opportunities for last photos for me. I’ll contend myself with your stunning images instead 🙂

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    I find your last photo spell-binding, Roger. I’m so glad you were ready for it.

  6. With your skill and surroundings, I don’t think that magic picture is as elusive as you say. You’re just modest.

  7. I’m re-reading Nicholas Crane’s Clear Waters Rising, about his walk from Cape Finisterre, and noted one sentence this afternoon as he was listening to a chance organ player in a Pyrenean village: ‘…beauty cannot be sought; one simply has to put oneself in the way of its whims, and wait.’ Thought of this when I read your post. I especially love that last pond shot.

  8. Is it odd that when I saw your first photo I thought, “There are paved roads there?” Your photos always enduce visions of rural, picturesque landscapes untouched by modern industry. I don’t know why.

  9. argone says:

    Beautiful landscapes !

  10. You’re so right-on the money with this one.. I’ve noticed light like never before, even with such simple steps as moving around a dish to approach from another side.. different light.. different feel! Your photos.. lovely by the way!

  11. Michelle says:

    Beautiful, beautiful landscapes. And: “It seems to take a lifetime before the mental cataracts are lifted, ironically just in time for the physical ones to begin to take their place.” I won’t forget that line. Well said.

  12. i could learn alot from you Roger! These shots are really lovely.

  13. Well Roger, these are superb! Where is this, France? Is so beautiful…

Leave a Reply

