Another bad meal at Restaurant Television….

I’m beginning to experience a previously unknown frisson of excitement each time I turn  on the television in the evening. We have entered a golden era of extended choice of viewing which bears an uncommon resemblance to an embossed leather bound, silk tasselled, multi paged restaurant menu offering a dazzling choice of hastily made, unseasoned, badly presented dishes garnished with a piping of pap to fill out the plate. Initially the rich and copious variety of ambrosial delights creates a lip smacking anticipation which is quickly followed by the realisation that the majority of those on offer are tired, reheated dishes that we have eaten, and sometimes regurgitated, many times before whilst the others are sugar sprinkled, puffed up soufflés filled with hot air. Sitting in restaurant Television I have the illusion that madly smiling, white teethed waiters are serving me endless “amuse bouches” interspersed by a series of tasteless, or dull, or just plain dreadful hors d’oeuvres, entrées and desserts which are served with the same fucking annoying self satisfied rictus of a grin. As long as Hello Magazine, Has Britain Got Talent ( who gives a monkey’s and it appears not) and all things monosyllabic hold sway, the moneymen will continue to tell the kitchen to keep serving up the same tasteless gruel as the public are wolfing it down, and are even begging for more. Any way, summer is nearly here and I won’t be going to restaurant Television very often for a few months. On the bright side, last night I made a very simple dish of couscous served with vegetables in a highly spiced broth. To mop up the latter we used a wonderful flatbread created from a recipe in “Casa Moro”. This was very good but was followed by a dish at restaurant Television called “Fake Britain” which says it all. The program, amongst other things, suggested that it policed the current proliferation of counterfeit goods which is ironic as the program itself is a perfect example of such an artefact. Here’s the recipe for the flatbread from the fabulous Sam & Sam Clark of Moro.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking, cous cous, Digital photography, Flatbread, Food and Photography, Food photographer, hypocrisy, Moro Restaurant and Cookbook, photography course, Photography holiday, Sam & Sam Clark, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Another bad meal at Restaurant Television….

  1. Nice bread. I gave up TV years ago.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Beautiful bread – I’ve discovered that if I can find enough things to cook I don’t need TV at all 😉

  3. I’d prefer the bland, reconstituted fare of regular tv to Hubby’s nightly diet of “News” channels – more accurately described as the People Who Scream At Each Other About Politics and A Pretty Blonde Girl Is Missing shows… 😦
    Maybe that flatbread would keep me busy enough to ignore all of it…been years since I made any.

  4. alex says:

    love the photo, I bet this was delicious I’ve always liked the look of Casa Moro book.

  5. Tandy says:

    I must try the flat bread sometime!

  6. Great photo. Give us this day our daily bread. As for Television, five or more decades ago, Newton Minow, the then Chairman of the US Federal Communications Commission, and perhaps an admirer of T.S. Eliot, characterized Television in the US as a “vast wasteland.” Nothing has changed here, and it appears that on your side of the pond it has sunk to our level.

  7. Ah, the Staff of Life! And if you thought British TV was bad…spend an evening channel surfing in Spain. Dire 😦 I´d rather cook!

  8. you have said so perfectly what I have been feeing for sometime now, and see to rarely turn the tv on! but I have found that since subscribing to your blog I turn my stove on a lot more! thanks for the inspiration.

  9. Television has left me flat for some time, unlike these beautiful pouffy flatbreads of yours that I must try!!

  10. Ha ha, one of the reasons we ditched our TV many years ago was when we realised we hadn’t switched it on in over 6 months 🙂

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    Great commentary, Roger. Television continues to devolve and I shudder to think where it will be in 10 years. One thing’s for certain, your flat bread recipe here will be a part of my recipe book. I’m a big fan of flat breads and the recipe you’ve shared is as good if not better than any that I’ve made. Can’t wait to give it a try.

  12. I do love your rants. We don’t watch a lot of TV, it’s usually disappointing!

  13. I’m wondering, do you ever watch any of the Ricky Gervais specials or series?

  14. Rachel says:

    Lovely bread! And a good excuse to finally buy that kitchen scale ;-p Thanks and mmmmm!!!

  15. ceciliag says:

    I have to admit that i have no idea what you are talking about, No TV here , no restaurants here, HOWEVER that flatbread recipe is the one I have been looking for.. I just know it.. So i am scribbling it on the back of an envelope and I shall try it this evening! c

  16. spree says:

    One thing to love about you Roger is how clear it is where you stand on a given issue! 😉 (by the way I couldn’t agree more about television pablum.) Flat bread is a favorite around here, so I must give yours a go!

Leave a Reply

