I have a dream….

Food, Photography and France are my motivating trinity and I’m continually looking for ways to share the pleasure that they afford me with as many of you as possible. The idea of combining cookery and photography together with the opportunity of enjoying the pleasure of spending time exploring deepest Perigord Noir, in Southwest France, seemed to be the sort of package that would accomplish that dream. So , with the help of one of the most respected cookery schools in France and a very talented Australian chef, the word has become flesh, so to speak.

The cookery school of La Combe, run by the guiding hand of  Wendely Harvey, who was previously the publisher for Weldon Owen in the United Stated, is situated in this elegant 18C manoir in the Dordogne. The ancient house sits in 40 acres of parkland and boasts 5 guest apartments, all with American size beds and en suite bathrooms. The next ingredient of this potent combination is chef Tonya Jennings, owner of the celebrated Cooking on the Bay Cookery School in Australia, who will be the guest chef at La Combe from Aug 28-Sept 04. The icing on the cake will be that, during this course, I will be on hand to share with you some of the photographic knowledge that I have acquired over a long career as a professional photographer. There will be opportunities for food photography as well as taking pictures in the markets, restaurants, farms and even at rare events such as truffle hunting with a pig. Although there is not a cookery class each day, I will always be on hand to help you with your cameras, to show you new techniques or just to answer your questions. The variety of locations that we will visit is mouthwatering both in visual and gustatory terms and includes the caves of Lascaux with their remarkable pre-historic cave paintings, an ancient water driven mill still producing artisan walnut oil, the market in picturesque Sarlat, the Michelin starred Vieux Logis in Tremolat (amongst a fistful of other restaurants, bistros and fermes auberges) and an early morning truffle hunt which is now carried out with a dog, as the delightful pig Gollum was too keen on eating them, rather than handing them over. I have visited La Combe twice before, in a professional capacity as a photographer shooting features for Taste Magazine ( a Williams Sonoma publication) and D Magazine ( The best of Dallas and Fort Worth) , and on both occasions I was equally impressed with the professionalism of the teaching and the relaxed holiday atmosphere created by the beautiful surroundings.  Prices and details can be found on www.lacombe-perigord.com but please contact me at info@camerahols.com if you want further details.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Bistro, Cookery School in France, Cooking, Digital photography, Dordogne, Food and Photography, Food photographer, lifestyle, photography course, Photography holiday, summer, Truffles, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to I have a dream….

  1. argone says:

    This is such a gorgeous place …. I love Dordogne.

  2. Hello again, banner link now on my site, hope it meets with your approval.

    Alan W.

  3. Looks like a great adventure…one I hope you can repeat next year, after we’ve figured out the logistics of overseas travel in the company of a Very Small Child…

  4. Sounds amazing….maybe, just maybe!

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Can I have that little black pig?

  6. Maybe here as well.. I’m heading over to the link.. wouldn’t it be fun to all meet up some place as wonderful as Dordogne??

  7. I want to go to France NOW! Gah!

  8. I hope the new venture is a great sucess

  9. spree says:

    Roger, you’ve set me to dreaming Dordogne. (sigh) ‘twould be amazing, lovely and delicious by every measure!

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    Now that would be a wonderful holiday, a one-of-a-kind experience on so many levels. I hope it successful, Roger, because it seems tailor-made for your interests and abilities. Bonne chance!

  11. What’s in the glass?

  12. Have I ever mentioned how rough your life seems? Great photos as always!

  13. How wonderful Roger! Is a beautiful place.

  14. Sounds wonderful, Roger. truffle hunting with a pig: I am SO tempted.

  15. ceciliag says:

    What a fantastic dream Roger and a dream that you are making come true.. I hope that while you are all there without me!! you might make a post or two so I can share.. I will probably still be sat here with the never ending sheep pregnancy. i think that maybe Mama is having a cow – not lambs at all!! or possibly an elephant! And of course in aug/sept i will be milking and making cheese and taking rotton photographs of it because I cannot go and work with you somewhere classy and gorgeous. That looks like the most wonderful place to work, I look forward to seeing who of our blog-crew do get there. Wouldn’t that be grand! (now i am off to fry a couple of fresh eggs and have a Woe is Me!) c

  16. Tandy says:

    I need to win the lotto….. And I love the blackboards!

  17. Green with envy. I cannot wait to get out to my small corner of the Auvergne, just another year and then the dream can be reality.I love the idea of the blackboards for the week I suppose I could have one large one counting down the year ahead……Thanks for an entertaining blog

  18. I would love doing this so much. Unfortunately, I’m over-committed right now and will have to hope that the course is repeated in a year.

  19. a. m. f. says:

    What a charming place…sigh…someday I shall make it to France ~

  20. alex says:

    what exciting news for you. I shall dream of being there…budget and family will make it impossible! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

